lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH AUTOSEL 5.4 277/350] tpm: Add a flag to indicate TPM power is managed by firmware
On Tue, Dec 10, 2019 at 1:12 PM Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> From: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
>
> [ Upstream commit 2e2ee5a2db06c4b81315514b01d06fe5644342e9 ]
>
> On some platforms, the TPM power is managed by firmware and therefore we
> don't need to stop the TPM on suspend when going to a light version of
> suspend such as S0ix ("freeze" suspend state). Add a chip flag,
> TPM_CHIP_FLAG_FIRMWARE_POWER_MANAGED, to indicate this so that certain
> platforms can probe for the usage of this light suspend and avoid
> touching the TPM state across suspend/resume.
>

Are the patches needed to support CR50 (which need this patch) going
to be applied to v5.4.y as well ? If not, what is the purpose of
applying this patch to v5.4.y ?

Thanks,
Guenter

> Cc: Andrey Pronin <apronin@chromium.org>
> Cc: Duncan Laurie <dlaurie@chromium.org>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Guenter Roeck <groeck@chromium.org>
> Cc: Alexander Steffen <Alexander.Steffen@infineon.com>
> Cc: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
> Tested-by: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
> Reviewed-by: Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>
> Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
> Reviewed-by: Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
> ---
> drivers/char/tpm/tpm-interface.c | 8 +++++++-
> drivers/char/tpm/tpm.h | 1 +
> 2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/char/tpm/tpm-interface.c b/drivers/char/tpm/tpm-interface.c
> index d7a3888ad80f0..7f105490604c8 100644
> --- a/drivers/char/tpm/tpm-interface.c
> +++ b/drivers/char/tpm/tpm-interface.c
> @@ -23,6 +23,7 @@
> #include <linux/slab.h>
> #include <linux/mutex.h>
> #include <linux/spinlock.h>
> +#include <linux/suspend.h>
> #include <linux/freezer.h>
> #include <linux/tpm_eventlog.h>
>
> @@ -394,7 +395,11 @@ int tpm_pm_suspend(struct device *dev)
> return -ENODEV;
>
> if (chip->flags & TPM_CHIP_FLAG_ALWAYS_POWERED)
> - return 0;
> + goto suspended;
> +
> + if ((chip->flags & TPM_CHIP_FLAG_FIRMWARE_POWER_MANAGED) &&
> + !pm_suspend_via_firmware())
> + goto suspended;
>
> if (!tpm_chip_start(chip)) {
> if (chip->flags & TPM_CHIP_FLAG_TPM2)
> @@ -405,6 +410,7 @@ int tpm_pm_suspend(struct device *dev)
> tpm_chip_stop(chip);
> }
>
> +suspended:
> return rc;
> }
> EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(tpm_pm_suspend);
> diff --git a/drivers/char/tpm/tpm.h b/drivers/char/tpm/tpm.h
> index a7fea3e0ca86a..f3bf2f7f755c8 100644
> --- a/drivers/char/tpm/tpm.h
> +++ b/drivers/char/tpm/tpm.h
> @@ -162,6 +162,7 @@ enum tpm_chip_flags {
> TPM_CHIP_FLAG_VIRTUAL = BIT(3),
> TPM_CHIP_FLAG_HAVE_TIMEOUTS = BIT(4),
> TPM_CHIP_FLAG_ALWAYS_POWERED = BIT(5),
> + TPM_CHIP_FLAG_FIRMWARE_POWER_MANAGED = BIT(6),
> };
>
> #define to_tpm_chip(d) container_of(d, struct tpm_chip, dev)
> --
> 2.20.1
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-10 22:47    [W:0.798 / U:0.056 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site