lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:timers/vdso] arm64: vdso: Build vDSO with -ffixed-x18
Commit-ID:  98cd3c3f83fbba27a6bacd75ad12e8388a61a32a
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/98cd3c3f83fbba27a6bacd75ad12e8388a61a32a
Author: Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>
AuthorDate: Fri, 21 Jun 2019 10:52:32 +0100
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Sat, 22 Jun 2019 21:21:06 +0200

arm64: vdso: Build vDSO with -ffixed-x18

The vDSO needs to be built with x18 reserved in order to accommodate
userspace platform ABIs built on top of Linux that use the register
to carry inter-procedural state, as provided for by the AAPCS.
An example of such a platform ABI is the one that will be used by an
upcoming version of Android.

Although this change is currently a no-op due to the fact that the vDSO
is currently implemented in pure assembly on arm64, it is necessary
in order to prepare for using the generic C implementation of the vDSO.

[ tglx: Massaged changelog ]

Signed-off-by: Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Tested-by: Shijith Thotton <sthotton@marvell.com>
Tested-by: Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@android.com>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>
Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
Cc: Huw Davies <huw@codeweavers.com>
Cc: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@google.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190621095252.32307-6-vincenzo.frascino@arm.com

---
arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile b/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile
index 3acfc813e966..ec81d28aeb5d 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/vdso/Makefile
@@ -20,7 +20,7 @@ obj-vdso := $(addprefix $(obj)/, $(obj-vdso))
ldflags-y := -shared -nostdlib -soname=linux-vdso.so.1 --hash-style=sysv \
--build-id -n -T

-ccflags-y := -fno-common -fno-builtin -fno-stack-protector
+ccflags-y := -fno-common -fno-builtin -fno-stack-protector -ffixed-x18
ccflags-y += -DDISABLE_BRANCH_PROFILING

VDSO_LDFLAGS := -Bsymbolic
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-24 03:42    [W:0.252 / U:48.300 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site