lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:timers/vdso] arm64: compat: No need for pre-ARMv7 barriers on an ARMv8 system
Commit-ID:  53d87b37a2a4a4b6b0c7f8073c4be04022252e26
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/53d87b37a2a4a4b6b0c7f8073c4be04022252e26
Author: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 24 Jun 2019 15:00:19 +0100
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Tue, 25 Jun 2019 09:43:38 +0200

arm64: compat: No need for pre-ARMv7 barriers on an ARMv8 system

Remove the deprecated (pre-ARMv7) compat barriers as they would not be used
on an ARMv8 system.

Fixes: a7f71a2c8903 ("arm64: compat: Add vDSO")
Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Mark Salyzyn <salyzyn@android.com>
Cc: Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>
Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
Cc: Huw Davies <huw@codeweavers.com>
Cc: Shijith Thotton <sthotton@marvell.com>
Cc: Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190624140018.GD29120@arrakis.emea.arm.com
---
arch/arm64/include/asm/vdso/compat_barrier.h | 7 -------
1 file changed, 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/vdso/compat_barrier.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/vdso/compat_barrier.h
index ea24ea856b07..fb60a88b5ed4 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/vdso/compat_barrier.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/vdso/compat_barrier.h
@@ -18,14 +18,7 @@
#undef dmb
#endif

-#if __LINUX_ARM_ARCH__ >= 7
#define dmb(option) __asm__ __volatile__ ("dmb " #option : : : "memory")
-#elif __LINUX_ARM_ARCH__ == 6
-#define dmb(x) __asm__ __volatile__ ("mcr p15, 0, %0, c7, c10, 5" \
- : : "r" (0) : "memory")
-#else
-#define dmb(x) __asm__ __volatile__ ("" : : : "memory")
-#endif

#if __LINUX_ARM_ARCH__ >= 8
#define aarch32_smp_mb() dmb(ish)
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-25 09:51    [W:0.189 / U:4.336 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site