lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v9 05/29] x86/mpx: Simplify handling of errors when computing linear addresses
Date
When errors occur in the computation of the linear address, -1L is
returned. Rather than having a separate return path for errors, the
variable used to return the computed linear address can be initialized
with the error value. Hence, only one return path is needed. This makes
the function easier to read.

While here, ensure that the error value is -1L, a 64-bit value, rather
than -1, a 32-bit value.

Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Nathan Howard <liverlint@gmail.com>
Cc: Adan Hawthorn <adanhawthorn@gmail.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Suggested-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
arch/x86/mm/mpx.c | 13 ++++++-------
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c b/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
index 9ceaa95..f4c48a0 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/mpx.c
@@ -138,7 +138,7 @@ static int get_reg_offset(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs,
*/
static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
{
- unsigned long addr, base, indx;
+ unsigned long addr = -1L, base, indx;
int addr_offset, base_offset, indx_offset;
insn_byte_t sib;

@@ -149,17 +149,17 @@ static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
if (X86_MODRM_MOD(insn->modrm.value) == 3) {
addr_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_RM);
if (addr_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;
addr = regs_get_register(regs, addr_offset);
} else {
if (insn->sib.nbytes) {
base_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_BASE);
if (base_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;

indx_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_INDEX);
if (indx_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;

base = regs_get_register(regs, base_offset);
indx = regs_get_register(regs, indx_offset);
@@ -167,14 +167,13 @@ static void __user *mpx_get_addr_ref(struct insn *insn, struct pt_regs *regs)
} else {
addr_offset = get_reg_offset(insn, regs, REG_TYPE_RM);
if (addr_offset < 0)
- goto out_err;
+ goto out;
addr = regs_get_register(regs, addr_offset);
}
addr += insn->displacement.value;
}
+out:
return (void __user *)addr;
-out_err:
- return (void __user *)-1;
}

static int mpx_insn_decode(struct insn *insn,
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-04 05:56    [W:0.237 / U:0.016 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site