lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v9 23/29] x86/cpufeature: Add User-Mode Instruction Prevention definitions
Date
User-Mode Instruction Prevention is a security feature present in new
Intel processors that, when set, prevents the execution of a subset of
instructions if such instructions are executed in user mode (CPL > 0).
Attempting to execute such instructions causes a general protection
exception.

The subset of instructions comprises:

* SGDT - Store Global Descriptor Table
* SIDT - Store Interrupt Descriptor Table
* SLDT - Store Local Descriptor Table
* SMSW - Store Machine Status Word
* STR - Store Task Register

This feature is also added to the list of disabled-features to allow
a cleaner handling of build-time configuration.

Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Chen Yucong <slaoub@gmail.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Huang Rui <ray.huang@amd.com>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h | 1 +
arch/x86/include/asm/disabled-features.h | 8 +++++++-
arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/processor-flags.h | 2 ++
3 files changed, 10 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h
index 2519c6c..d1f18f2 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeatures.h
@@ -292,6 +292,7 @@

/* Intel-defined CPU features, CPUID level 0x00000007:0 (ecx), word 16 */
#define X86_FEATURE_AVX512VBMI (16*32+ 1) /* AVX512 Vector Bit Manipulation instructions*/
+#define X86_FEATURE_UMIP (16*32+ 2) /* User Mode Instruction Protection */
#define X86_FEATURE_PKU (16*32+ 3) /* Protection Keys for Userspace */
#define X86_FEATURE_OSPKE (16*32+ 4) /* OS Protection Keys Enable */
#define X86_FEATURE_AVX512_VPOPCNTDQ (16*32+14) /* POPCNT for vectors of DW/QW */
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/disabled-features.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/disabled-features.h
index c10c912..14d6d50 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/disabled-features.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/disabled-features.h
@@ -16,6 +16,12 @@
# define DISABLE_MPX (1<<(X86_FEATURE_MPX & 31))
#endif

+#ifdef CONFIG_X86_INTEL_UMIP
+# define DISABLE_UMIP 0
+#else
+# define DISABLE_UMIP (1<<(X86_FEATURE_UMIP & 31))
+#endif
+
#ifdef CONFIG_X86_64
# define DISABLE_VME (1<<(X86_FEATURE_VME & 31))
# define DISABLE_K6_MTRR (1<<(X86_FEATURE_K6_MTRR & 31))
@@ -63,7 +69,7 @@
#define DISABLED_MASK13 0
#define DISABLED_MASK14 0
#define DISABLED_MASK15 0
-#define DISABLED_MASK16 (DISABLE_PKU|DISABLE_OSPKE|DISABLE_LA57)
+#define DISABLED_MASK16 (DISABLE_PKU|DISABLE_OSPKE|DISABLE_LA57|DISABLE_UMIP)
#define DISABLED_MASK17 0
#define DISABLED_MASK_CHECK BUILD_BUG_ON_ZERO(NCAPINTS != 18)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/processor-flags.h b/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/processor-flags.h
index 39946d0..cf4c876 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/processor-flags.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/processor-flags.h
@@ -104,6 +104,8 @@
#define X86_CR4_OSFXSR _BITUL(X86_CR4_OSFXSR_BIT)
#define X86_CR4_OSXMMEXCPT_BIT 10 /* enable unmasked SSE exceptions */
#define X86_CR4_OSXMMEXCPT _BITUL(X86_CR4_OSXMMEXCPT_BIT)
+#define X86_CR4_UMIP_BIT 11 /* enable UMIP support */
+#define X86_CR4_UMIP _BITUL(X86_CR4_UMIP_BIT)
#define X86_CR4_LA57_BIT 12 /* enable 5-level page tables */
#define X86_CR4_LA57 _BITUL(X86_CR4_LA57_BIT)
#define X86_CR4_VMXE_BIT 13 /* enable VMX virtualization */
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-04 05:58    [W:0.250 / U:1.264 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site