lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v9 06/29] x86/mpx: Use signed variables to compute effective addresses
On Tue, Oct 03, 2017 at 08:54:09PM -0700, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> Even though memory addresses are unsigned, the operands used to compute the
> effective address do have a sign. This is true for ModRM.rm, SIB.base,
> SIB.index as well as the displacement bytes. Thus, signed variables shall
> be used when computing the effective address from these operands. Once the
> signed effective address has been computed, it is casted to an unsigned
> long to determine the linear address.
>
> Variables are renamed to better reflect the type of address being
> computed.
>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
> Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
> Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Nathan Howard <liverlint@gmail.com>
> Cc: Adan Hawthorn <adanhawthorn@gmail.com>
> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
> Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> arch/x86/mm/mpx.c | 20 ++++++++++++++------
> 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imendörffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG Nürnberg)
--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-05 11:42    [W:0.206 / U:36.380 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site