lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v9 16/29] x86/insn-eval: Add function to get default params of code segment
On Tue, Oct 03, 2017 at 08:54:19PM -0700, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> Obtain the default values of the address and operand sizes as specified in
> the D and L bits of the the segment descriptor selected by the register
> CS. The function can be used for both protected and long modes.
> For virtual-8086 mode, the default address and operand sizes are always 2
> bytes.
>
> The returned parameters are encoded in a signed 8-bit data type. Auxiliar
> macros are provided to encode and decode such values.
>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
> Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
> Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
> Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> Cc: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
> Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> arch/x86/include/asm/insn-eval.h | 5 ++++
> arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c | 64 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> 2 files changed, 69 insertions(+)

Some cleanups ontop:

---
diff --git a/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c b/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
index 64924b7d5fff..3352b9d5164f 100644
--- a/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
+++ b/arch/x86/lib/insn-eval.c
@@ -614,14 +614,14 @@ static unsigned long get_seg_limit(struct pt_regs *regs, int seg_reg_idx)
}

/**
- * insn_get_code_seg_defaults() - Obtain code segment default parameters
+ * insn_get_code_seg_params() - Obtain code segment parameters
* @regs: Structure with register values as seen when entering kernel mode
*
- * Obtain the default parameters of the code segment: address and operand sizes.
- * The code segment is obtained from the selector contained in the CS register
- * in regs. In protected mode, the default address is determined by inspecting
- * the L and D bits of the segment descriptor. In virtual-8086 mode, the default
- * is always two bytes for both address and operand sizes.
+ * Obtain address and operand sizes of the code segment. It is obtained from the
+ * selector contained in the CS register in regs. In protected mode, the default
+ * address is determined by inspecting the L and D bits of the segment descriptor.
+ * In virtual-8086 mode, the default is always two bytes for both address and
+ * operand sizes.
*
* Returns:
*
@@ -629,7 +629,7 @@ static unsigned long get_seg_limit(struct pt_regs *regs, int seg_reg_idx)
*
* -EINVAL on error.
*/
-char insn_get_code_seg_defaults(struct pt_regs *regs)
+char insn_get_code_seg_params(struct pt_regs *regs)
{
struct desc_struct *desc;
short sel;
@@ -640,7 +640,7 @@ char insn_get_code_seg_defaults(struct pt_regs *regs)

sel = get_segment_selector(regs, INAT_SEG_REG_CS);
if (sel < 0)
- return -1L;
+ return sel;

desc = get_desc(sel);
if (!desc)
--
Regards/Gruss,
Boris.

SUSE Linux GmbH, GF: Felix Imendörffer, Jane Smithard, Graham Norton, HRB 21284 (AG Nürnberg)
--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-12 18:34    [W:0.264 / U:3.960 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site