lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Oct]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v9 06/29] x86/mpx: Use signed variables to compute effective addresses
Date
On Thu, 2017-10-05 at 11:41 +0200, Borislav Petkov wrote:
> On Tue, Oct 03, 2017 at 08:54:09PM -0700, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> >
> > Even though memory addresses are unsigned, the operands used to compute the
> > effective address do have a sign. This is true for ModRM.rm, SIB.base,
> > SIB.index as well as the displacement bytes. Thus, signed variables shall
> > be used when computing the effective address from these operands. Once the
> > signed effective address has been computed, it is casted to an unsigned
> > long to determine the linear address.
> >
> > Variables are renamed to better reflect the type of address being
> > computed.
> >
> > Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
> > Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> > Cc: Adam Buchbinder <adam.buchbinder@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
> > Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
> > Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Nathan Howard <liverlint@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Adan Hawthorn <adanhawthorn@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
> > Cc: Ravi V. Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> > Cc: x86@kernel.org
> > Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> > ---
> >  arch/x86/mm/mpx.c | 20 ++++++++++++++------
> >  1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)
> Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>

Thank you!

BR,
Ricardo
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-10-05 19:39    [W:0.096 / U:0.372 seconds]
©2003-2017 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site