lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jul]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/mm] x86/boot/e820: Add support to determine the E820 type of an address
Commit-ID:  d68baa3fa6e4d703fd0c7954ee5c739789e7242f
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/d68baa3fa6e4d703fd0c7954ee5c739789e7242f
Author: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 17 Jul 2017 16:10:12 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 18 Jul 2017 11:38:01 +0200

x86/boot/e820: Add support to determine the E820 type of an address

Add a function that will return the E820 type associated with an address
range.

Signed-off-by: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Toshimitsu Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/b797aaa588803bf33263d5dd8c32377668fa931a.1500319216.git.thomas.lendacky@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/e820/api.h | 2 ++
arch/x86/kernel/e820.c | 26 +++++++++++++++++++++++---
2 files changed, 25 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/e820/api.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/e820/api.h
index a504adc..cd266d8 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/e820/api.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/e820/api.h
@@ -39,6 +39,8 @@ extern void e820__setup_pci_gap(void);
extern void e820__reallocate_tables(void);
extern void e820__register_nosave_regions(unsigned long limit_pfn);

+extern int e820__get_entry_type(u64 start, u64 end);
+
/*
* Returns true iff the specified range [start,end) is completely contained inside
* the ISA region.
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c b/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
index 532da61..71c11ad 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
@@ -96,7 +96,8 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(e820__mapped_any);
* Note: this function only works correctly once the E820 table is sorted and
* not-overlapping (at least for the range specified), which is the case normally.
*/
-bool __init e820__mapped_all(u64 start, u64 end, enum e820_type type)
+static struct e820_entry *__e820__mapped_all(u64 start, u64 end,
+ enum e820_type type)
{
int i;

@@ -122,9 +123,28 @@ bool __init e820__mapped_all(u64 start, u64 end, enum e820_type type)
* coverage of the desired range exists:
*/
if (start >= end)
- return 1;
+ return entry;
}
- return 0;
+
+ return NULL;
+}
+
+/*
+ * This function checks if the entire range <start,end> is mapped with type.
+ */
+bool __init e820__mapped_all(u64 start, u64 end, enum e820_type type)
+{
+ return __e820__mapped_all(start, end, type);
+}
+
+/*
+ * This function returns the type associated with the range <start,end>.
+ */
+int e820__get_entry_type(u64 start, u64 end)
+{
+ struct e820_entry *entry = __e820__mapped_all(start, end, 0);
+
+ return entry ? entry->type : -EINVAL;
}

/*
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-07-18 13:01    [W:0.352 / U:32.288 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site