lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jul]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/mm] x86/cpu/AMD: Make the microcode level available earlier in the boot
Commit-ID:  f655e6e6b992a2fb0d0334db2620607b98df39e7
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/f655e6e6b992a2fb0d0334db2620607b98df39e7
Author: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 17 Jul 2017 16:10:23 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 18 Jul 2017 11:38:03 +0200

x86/cpu/AMD: Make the microcode level available earlier in the boot

Move the setting of the cpuinfo_x86.microcode field from amd_init() to
early_amd_init() so that it is available earlier in the boot process. This
avoids having to read MSR_AMD64_PATCH_LEVEL directly during early boot.

Signed-off-by: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Toshimitsu Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/7b7525fa12593dac5f4b01fcc25c95f97e93862f.1500319216.git.thomas.lendacky@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/amd.c | 8 ++++----
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/amd.c b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/amd.c
index 4d87950..f22fd4e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/amd.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/amd.c
@@ -547,8 +547,12 @@ static void bsp_init_amd(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)

static void early_init_amd(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)
{
+ u32 dummy;
+
early_init_amd_mc(c);

+ rdmsr_safe(MSR_AMD64_PATCH_LEVEL, &c->microcode, &dummy);
+
/*
* c->x86_power is 8000_0007 edx. Bit 8 is TSC runs at constant rate
* with P/T states and does not stop in deep C-states
@@ -750,8 +754,6 @@ static void init_amd_bd(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)

static void init_amd(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)
{
- u32 dummy;
-
early_init_amd(c);

/*
@@ -813,8 +815,6 @@ static void init_amd(struct cpuinfo_x86 *c)
if (c->x86 > 0x11)
set_cpu_cap(c, X86_FEATURE_ARAT);

- rdmsr_safe(MSR_AMD64_PATCH_LEVEL, &c->microcode, &dummy);
-
/* 3DNow or LM implies PREFETCHW */
if (!cpu_has(c, X86_FEATURE_3DNOWPREFETCH))
if (cpu_has(c, X86_FEATURE_3DNOW) || cpu_has(c, X86_FEATURE_LM))
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-07-18 13:05    [W:0.401 / U:7.248 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site