lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Jul]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/mm] x86/realmode: Decrypt trampoline area if memory encryption is active
Commit-ID:  163ea3c83aeeb3908a51162c79cb3a7c374d92b4
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/163ea3c83aeeb3908a51162c79cb3a7c374d92b4
Author: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 17 Jul 2017 16:10:20 -0500
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 18 Jul 2017 11:38:03 +0200

x86/realmode: Decrypt trampoline area if memory encryption is active

When Secure Memory Encryption is enabled, the trampoline area must not
be encrypted. A CPU running in real mode will not be able to decrypt
memory that has been encrypted because it will not be able to use addresses
with the memory encryption mask.

Signed-off-by: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Larry Woodman <lwoodman@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Toshimitsu Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/c70ffd2614fa77e80df31c9169ca98a9b16ff97c.1500319216.git.thomas.lendacky@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/realmode/init.c | 8 ++++++++
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/realmode/init.c b/arch/x86/realmode/init.c
index cd4be19..d6ddc7e 100644
--- a/arch/x86/realmode/init.c
+++ b/arch/x86/realmode/init.c
@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@
#include <linux/io.h>
#include <linux/slab.h>
#include <linux/memblock.h>
+#include <linux/mem_encrypt.h>

#include <asm/set_memory.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
@@ -59,6 +60,13 @@ static void __init setup_real_mode(void)

base = (unsigned char *)real_mode_header;

+ /*
+ * If SME is active, the trampoline area will need to be in
+ * decrypted memory in order to bring up other processors
+ * successfully.
+ */
+ set_memory_decrypted((unsigned long)base, size >> PAGE_SHIFT);
+
memcpy(base, real_mode_blob, size);

phys_base = __pa(base);
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-07-18 13:04    [W:0.265 / U:5.076 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site