lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Feb]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    From
    Subject[PATCH 5/9] i2c: move i2c_omap's probe function to .devinit.text
    Date
    A pointer to omap_i2c_probe is passed to the core via
    platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the
    .init sections are discarded. Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y)
    unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an
    oops as does a device being registered late.

    An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of
    platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function
    from the struct platform_driver.

    Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
    Cc: Kalle Jokiniemi <ext-kalle.jokiniemi@nokia.com>
    Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
    Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul@pwsan.com>
    Cc: Richard Woodruff <r-woodruff2@ti.com>
    Cc: chandra shekhar <x0044955@ti.com>
    Cc: Jason P Marini <jason.marini@gmail.com>
    Cc: Syed Mohammed Khasim <x0khasim@ti.com>
    Cc: Jarkko Nikula <jarkko.nikula@nokia.com>
    Cc: Juha Yrjola <juha.yrjola@solidboot.com>
    Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    ---
    drivers/i2c/busses/i2c-omap.c | 2 +-
    1 files changed, 1 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)

    diff --git a/drivers/i2c/busses/i2c-omap.c b/drivers/i2c/busses/i2c-omap.c
    index 0037e31..bd86a85 100644
    --- a/drivers/i2c/busses/i2c-omap.c
    +++ b/drivers/i2c/busses/i2c-omap.c
    @@ -849,7 +849,7 @@ static const struct i2c_algorithm omap_i2c_algo = {
    .functionality = omap_i2c_func,
    };

    -static int __init
    +static int __devinit
    omap_i2c_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
    {
    struct omap_i2c_dev *dev;
    --
    1.6.6
    --
    To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
    the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
    More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
    Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2010-02-04 20:59    [W:0.049 / U:0.852 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site