lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2010]   [Feb]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 1/9] platform-drivers: move probe to .devinit.text in arch/arm
Date
A pointer to a probe callback is passed to the core via
platform_driver_register and so the function must not disappear when the
.init sections are discarded. Otherwise (if also having HOTPLUG=y)
unbinding and binding a device to the driver via sysfs will result in an
oops as does a device being registered late.

An alternative to this patch is using platform_driver_probe instead of
platform_driver_register plus removing the pointer to the probe function
from the struct platform_driver.

Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arnaud Patard <arnaud.patard@rtp-net.org>
Cc: Ben Dooks <ben-linux@fluff.org>
Cc: Dmitry Baryshkov <dbaryshkov@gmail.com>
Cc: Eric Miao <eric.miao@marvell.com>
Cc: Kristoffer Ericson <Kristoffer.Ericson@gmail.com>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <liam.girdwood@wolfsonmicro.com>
Cc: Paul Sokolovsky <pmiscml@gmail.com>
Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@rpsys.net>
Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
---
arch/arm/mach-pxa/corgi_ssp.c | 2 +-
arch/arm/mach-pxa/sharpsl_pm.c | 2 +-
arch/arm/mach-s3c2410/h1940-bluetooth.c | 2 +-
arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c | 2 +-
4 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
diff --git a/arch/arm/mach-pxa/corgi_ssp.c b/arch/arm/mach-pxa/corgi_ssp.c
index a5ee707..1d9bc11 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mach-pxa/corgi_ssp.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mach-pxa/corgi_ssp.c
@@ -204,7 +204,7 @@ void __init corgi_ssp_set_machinfo(struct corgissp_machinfo *machinfo)
ssp_machinfo = machinfo;
}

-static int __init corgi_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
+static int __devinit corgi_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
int ret;

diff --git a/arch/arm/mach-pxa/sharpsl_pm.c b/arch/arm/mach-pxa/sharpsl_pm.c
index 67229a1..463d874 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mach-pxa/sharpsl_pm.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mach-pxa/sharpsl_pm.c
@@ -900,7 +900,7 @@ static struct platform_suspend_ops sharpsl_pm_ops = {
};
#endif

-static int __init sharpsl_pm_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
+static int __devinit sharpsl_pm_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
int ret;

diff --git a/arch/arm/mach-s3c2410/h1940-bluetooth.c b/arch/arm/mach-s3c2410/h1940-bluetooth.c
index b7d1f8d..a3f3c7b 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mach-s3c2410/h1940-bluetooth.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mach-s3c2410/h1940-bluetooth.c
@@ -56,7 +56,7 @@ static const struct rfkill_ops h1940bt_rfkill_ops = {
.set_block = h1940bt_set_block,
};

-static int __init h1940bt_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
+static int __devinit h1940bt_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
{
struct rfkill *rfk;
int ret = 0;
diff --git a/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c b/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
index 506a5e5..9b6dee5 100644
--- a/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
+++ b/arch/arm/mach-sa1100/jornada720_ssp.c
@@ -130,7 +130,7 @@ void jornada_ssp_end(void)
};
EXPORT_SYMBOL(jornada_ssp_end);

-static int __init jornada_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
+static int __devinit jornada_ssp_probe(struct platform_device *dev)
{
int ret;

--
1.6.6
--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2010-02-04 21:01    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans