lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2011]   [Jun]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    Date
    From
    Subject[tip:x86/vdso] x86-64: Remove vsyscall number 3 (venosys)
    Commit-ID:  bb5fe2f78eadf5a52d8dcbf9a57728fd107af97b
    Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/bb5fe2f78eadf5a52d8dcbf9a57728fd107af97b
    Author: Andy Lutomirski <luto@mit.edu>
    AuthorDate: Sun, 5 Jun 2011 13:50:22 -0400
    Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    CommitDate: Mon, 6 Jun 2011 09:43:14 +0200

    x86-64: Remove vsyscall number 3 (venosys)

    It just segfaults since April 2008 (a4928cff), so I'm pretty
    sure that nothing uses it. And having an empty section makes
    the linker script a bit fragile.

    Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@mit.edu>
    Cc: Jesper Juhl <jj@chaosbits.net>
    Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@infradead.org>
    Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
    Cc: richard -rw- weinberger <richard.weinberger@gmail.com>
    Cc: Mikael Pettersson <mikpe@it.uu.se>
    Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
    Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
    Cc: Louis Rilling <Louis.Rilling@kerlabs.com>
    Cc: Valdis.Kletnieks@vt.edu
    Cc: pageexec@freemail.hu
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/4a4abcf47ecadc269f2391a313576fe6d06acef7.1307292171.git.luto@mit.edu
    Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    ---
    arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S | 4 ----
    arch/x86/kernel/vsyscall_64.c | 5 -----
    2 files changed, 0 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

    diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S b/arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
    index 98b378d..4f90082 100644
    --- a/arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
    +++ b/arch/x86/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S
    @@ -182,10 +182,6 @@ SECTIONS
    *(.vsyscall_2)
    }

    - .vsyscall_3 ADDR(.vsyscall_0) + 3072: AT(VLOAD(.vsyscall_3)) {
    - *(.vsyscall_3)
    - }
    -
    . = ALIGN(__vsyscall_0 + PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE);

    #undef VSYSCALL_ADDR
    diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/vsyscall_64.c b/arch/x86/kernel/vsyscall_64.c
    index 9b2f3f5..70a5f6e 100644
    --- a/arch/x86/kernel/vsyscall_64.c
    +++ b/arch/x86/kernel/vsyscall_64.c
    @@ -209,11 +209,6 @@ vgetcpu(unsigned *cpu, unsigned *node, struct getcpu_cache *tcache)
    return 0;
    }

    -static long __vsyscall(3) venosys_1(void)
    -{
    - return -ENOSYS;
    -}
    -
    /* Assume __initcall executes before all user space. Hopefully kmod
    doesn't violate that. We'll find out if it does. */
    static void __cpuinit vsyscall_set_cpu(int cpu)

    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2011-06-06 10:37    [W:0.029 / U:0.032 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site