lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Feb]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [Patch v3 net-next 7/7] octeontx2-pf: ethtool physical link configuration
Date
Hi Jakub,

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
> Sent: Saturday, February 6, 2021 12:56 AM
> To: Hariprasad Kelam <hkelam@marvell.com>
> Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org;
> davem@davemloft.net; willemdebruijn.kernel@gmail.com;
> andrew@lunn.ch; Sunil Kovvuri Goutham <sgoutham@marvell.com>; Linu
> Cherian <lcherian@marvell.com>; Geethasowjanya Akula
> <gakula@marvell.com>; Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran <jerinj@marvell.com>;
> Subbaraya Sundeep Bhatta <sbhatta@marvell.com>
> Subject: [EXT] Re: [Patch v3 net-next 7/7] octeontx2-pf: ethtool physical link
> configuration
>
> On Fri, 5 Feb 2021 14:15:01 +0000 Hariprasad Kelam wrote:
> > > > Will add multi advertised mode support in near future.
> > >
> > > Looking at patch 6 it seems like the get side already supports
> > > multiple modes, although the example output only lists supported no
> advertised.
> > >
> > > Is the device actually doing IEEE autoneg or just configures the
> > > speed, lanes etc. according to the link mode selected?
> >
> > Device supports IEEE autoneg mode. Agreed get_link_ksetting returns
> multiple modes .
> > But set side firmware code designed in such way that it handles
> > single mode. Upon Successful configuration firmware updates advertised
> > modes to shared memory such that kernel will read and updates to
> ethtool.
>
> It needs to be symmetric, get needs to reflect what set specified.

Agreed. Even though set supports single mode still it is displayed with get link settings.

Thanks,
Hariprasad k

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-02-07 16:29    [W:0.059 / U:0.384 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site