lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH] membarrier-sync-core: Document architecture support
Date
Ensure we gather architecture requirements about each architecture supporting
the "sync_core" membarrier command in a single file under Documentation/features.

[ This patch applies on top of tip sched/core. ]

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Hunter <ahh@google.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@scylladb.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
Cc: David Sehr <sehr@google.com>
Cc: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Maged Michael <maged.michael@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: linux-api@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
---
.../sched/membarrier-sync-core/arch-support.txt | 62 ++++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 62 insertions(+)
create mode 100644 Documentation/features/sched/membarrier-sync-core/arch-support.txt

diff --git a/Documentation/features/sched/membarrier-sync-core/arch-support.txt b/Documentation/features/sched/membarrier-sync-core/arch-support.txt
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..2c815a7
--- /dev/null
+++ b/Documentation/features/sched/membarrier-sync-core/arch-support.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,62 @@
+#
+# Feature name: membarrier-sync-core
+# Kconfig: ARCH_HAS_MEMBARRIER_SYNC_CORE
+# description: arch supports core serializing membarrier
+#
+# Architecture requirements
+#
+# * arm64
+#
+# Rely on eret context synchronization when returning from IPI handler, and
+# when returning to user-space.
+#
+# * x86
+#
+# x86-32 uses IRET as return from interrupt, which takes care of the IPI.
+# However, it uses both IRET and SYSEXIT to go back to user-space. The IRET
+# instruction is core serializing, but not SYSEXIT.
+#
+# x86-64 uses IRET as return from interrupt, which takes care of the IPI.
+# However, it can return to user-space through either SYSRETL (compat code),
+# SYSRETQ, or IRET.
+#
+# Given that neither SYSRET{L,Q}, nor SYSEXIT, are core serializing, we rely
+# instead on write_cr3() performed by switch_mm() to provide core serialization
+# after changing the current mm, and deal with the special case of kthread ->
+# uthread (temporarily keeping current mm into active_mm) by issuing a
+# sync_core_before_usermode() in that specific case.
+#
+ -----------------------
+ | arch |status|
+ -----------------------
+ | alpha: | TODO |
+ | arc: | TODO |
+ | arm: | TODO |
+ | arm64: | ok |
+ | blackfin: | TODO |
+ | c6x: | TODO |
+ | cris: | TODO |
+ | frv: | TODO |
+ | h8300: | TODO |
+ | hexagon: | TODO |
+ | ia64: | TODO |
+ | m32r: | TODO |
+ | m68k: | TODO |
+ | metag: | TODO |
+ | microblaze: | TODO |
+ | mips: | TODO |
+ | mn10300: | TODO |
+ | nios2: | TODO |
+ | openrisc: | TODO |
+ | parisc: | TODO |
+ | powerpc: | TODO |
+ | s390: | TODO |
+ | score: | TODO |
+ | sh: | TODO |
+ | sparc: | TODO |
+ | tile: | TODO |
+ | um: | TODO |
+ | unicore32: | TODO |
+ | x86: | ok |
+ | xtensa: | TODO |
+ -----------------------
--
1.9.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-06 18:01    [W:0.030 / U:0.540 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site