lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2017]   [Aug]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/core] perf build: Clarify open-coded header version warning message
Commit-ID:  8255e1efc193f110f1c9b8e40597a6c0c89fbedc
Gitweb: http://git.kernel.org/tip/8255e1efc193f110f1c9b8e40597a6c0c89fbedc
Author: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Sun, 30 Jul 2017 11:51:30 +0200
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitDate: Mon, 31 Jul 2017 10:30:06 -0300

perf build: Clarify open-coded header version warning message

In this patch we changed the header checks:

perf build: Clarify header version warning message

Unfortunately the header checks were copied to various places and thus the message got
out of sync. Fix some of them here.

Note that there's still old, misleading messages remaining in:

tools/objtool/Makefile: || echo "warning: objtool: x86 instruction decoder differs from kernel" >&2 )) || true
tools/objtool/Makefile: || echo "warning: objtool: orc_types.h differs from kernel" >&2 )) || true

here objtool copied the perf message, plus:

tools/perf/util/intel-pt-decoder/Build: || echo "Warning: Intel PT: x86 instruction decoder differs from kernel" >&2 )) || true

here the PT code regressed over the original message and only emits a vague warning
instead of specific file names...

All of this should be consolidated into tools/Build/ and used in a consistent
manner.

Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: David Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>
Cc: Francis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Cc: Geneviève Bastien <gbastien@versatic.net>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Julien Desfossez <jdesfossez@efficios.com>
Cc: Martin Liška <mliska@suse.cz>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Milian Wolff <milian.wolff@kdab.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Simon Que <sque@chromium.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Taeung Song <treeze.taeung@gmail.com>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170730095130.bblldwxjz5hamybb@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/lib/bpf/Makefile | 4 ++--
tools/perf/arch/x86/Makefile | 2 +-
2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/lib/bpf/Makefile b/tools/lib/bpf/Makefile
index 1f5300e..e87b590 100644
--- a/tools/lib/bpf/Makefile
+++ b/tools/lib/bpf/Makefile
@@ -156,10 +156,10 @@ all_cmd: $(CMD_TARGETS)
$(BPF_IN): force elfdep bpfdep
@(test -f ../../../include/uapi/linux/bpf.h -a -f ../../../include/uapi/linux/bpf.h && ( \
(diff -B ../../include/uapi/linux/bpf.h ../../../include/uapi/linux/bpf.h >/dev/null) || \
- echo "Warning: tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h differs from kernel" >&2 )) || true
+ echo "Warning: Kernel ABI header at 'tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h' differs from latest version at 'include/uapi/linux/bpf.h'" >&2 )) || true
@(test -f ../../../include/uapi/linux/bpf_common.h -a -f ../../../include/uapi/linux/bpf_common.h && ( \
(diff -B ../../include/uapi/linux/bpf_common.h ../../../include/uapi/linux/bpf_common.h >/dev/null) || \
- echo "Warning: tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf_common.h differs from kernel" >&2 )) || true
+ echo "Warning: Kernel ABI header at 'tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf_common.h' differs from latest version at 'include/uapi/linux/bpf_common.h'" >&2 )) || true
$(Q)$(MAKE) $(build)=libbpf

$(OUTPUT)libbpf.so: $(BPF_IN)
diff --git a/tools/perf/arch/x86/Makefile b/tools/perf/arch/x86/Makefile
index 6c9211b..9a628a2 100644
--- a/tools/perf/arch/x86/Makefile
+++ b/tools/perf/arch/x86/Makefile
@@ -20,7 +20,7 @@ _dummy := $(shell [ -d '$(out)' ] || mkdir -p '$(out)')
$(header): $(sys)/syscall_64.tbl $(systbl)
@(test -d ../../kernel -a -d ../../tools -a -d ../perf && ( \
(diff -B arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl ../../arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl >/dev/null) \
- || echo "Warning: x86_64's syscall_64.tbl differs from kernel" >&2 )) || true
+ || echo "Warning: Kernel ABI header at 'tools/arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl' differs from latest version at 'arch/x86/entry/syscalls/syscall_64.tbl'" >&2 )) || true
$(Q)$(SHELL) '$(systbl)' $(sys)/syscall_64.tbl 'x86_64' > $@

clean::
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2017-08-10 18:36    [W:0.111 / U:6.108 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site