lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Feb]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    Date
    From
    Subject[patch 52/86] lockdep, bug: Exclude TAINT_OOT_MODULE from disabling lock debugging
    3.2-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

    ------------------

    From: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>

    commit 9ec84acee1e221d99dc33237bff5e82839d10cc0 upstream.

    We do want to allow lock debugging for GPL-compatible modules
    that are not (yet) built in-tree. This was disabled as a
    side-effect of commit 2449b8ba0745327c5fa49a8d9acffe03b2eded69
    ('module,bug: Add TAINT_OOT_MODULE flag for modules not built
    in-tree'). Lock debug warnings now include taint flags, so
    kernel developers should still be able to deflect warnings
    caused by out-of-tree modules.

    The TAINT_PROPRIETARY_MODULE flag for non-GPL-compatible modules
    will still disable lock debugging.

    Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
    Cc: Nick Bowler <nbowler@elliptictech.com>
    Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
    Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
    Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
    Cc: Debian kernel maintainers <debian-kernel@lists.debian.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Alan Cox <alan@linux.intel.com>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1323268258.18450.11.camel@deadeye
    Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
    Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

    ---
    kernel/panic.c | 5 +++--
    1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

    --- a/kernel/panic.c
    +++ b/kernel/panic.c
    @@ -237,11 +237,12 @@ void add_taint(unsigned flag)
    * Can't trust the integrity of the kernel anymore.
    * We don't call directly debug_locks_off() because the issue
    * is not necessarily serious enough to set oops_in_progress to 1
    - * Also we want to keep up lockdep for staging development and
    - * post-warning case.
    + * Also we want to keep up lockdep for staging/out-of-tree
    + * development and post-warning case.
    */
    switch (flag) {
    case TAINT_CRAP:
    + case TAINT_OOT_MODULE:
    case TAINT_WARN:
    case TAINT_FIRMWARE_WORKAROUND:
    break;



    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2012-02-10 23:45    [W:0.024 / U:29.680 seconds]
    ©2003-2016 Jasper Spaans. hosted at Digital OceanAdvertise on this site