lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Jun]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject2.6.30-rc8-git4: Reported regressions from 2.6.29
Date
This message contains a list of some regressions from 2.6.29, for which there
are no fixes in the mainline I know of. If any of them have been fixed already,
please let me know.

If you know of any other unresolved regressions from 2.6.29, please let me know
either and I'll add them to the list. Also, please let me know if any of the
entries below are invalid.

Each entry from the list will be sent additionally in an automatic reply to
this message with CCs to the people involved in reporting and handling the
issue.


Listed regressions statistics:

Date Total Pending Unresolved
----------------------------------------
2009-06-07 110 35 31
2009-05-31 100 32 27
2009-05-24 92 34 27
2009-05-16 81 36 33
2009-04-25 55 36 26
2009-04-17 37 35 28


Unresolved regressions
----------------------

Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13475
Subject : suspend/hibernate lockdep warning
Submitter : Dave Young <hidave.darkstar@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-06-02 10:00 (6 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124393723321241&w=4


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13474
Subject : Oops whilst booting
Submitter : Chris Clayton <chris2553@googlemail.com>
Date : 2009-06-06 18:59 (2 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124431487924254&w=4


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13473
Subject : Bug while trying to launch a KVM guest
Submitter : Sachin Sant <sachinp@in.ibm.com>
Date : 2009-06-05 17:20 (3 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124422173129047&w=4
Handled-By : Mimi Zohar <zohar@us.ibm.com>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13472
Subject : Oops with minicom and USB serial
Submitter : Peter Chubb <peterc@gelato.unsw.edu.au>
Date : 2009-06-05 1:37 (3 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124416901026700&w=4
Handled-By : Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13471
Subject : Loading parport_pc kills the keyboard if ACPI is enabled
Submitter : Ozan Çağlayan <ozan@pardus.org.tr>
Date : 2009-06-04 9:12 (4 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124410667532558&w=4


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13446
Subject : resume after suspend-to-ram broken on Toshiba Satellite A100 with 2.6.30-rc8 (works in 2.6.28)
Submitter : Andrea Iob <andrea_iob@yahoo.it>
Date : 2009-06-03 21:42 (5 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13424
Subject : possible deadlock when doing governor switching
Submitter : Shaohua Li <shaohua.li@intel.com>
Date : 2009-05-31 16:36 (8 days old)
References : http://www.spinics.net/lists/cpufreq/msg00711.html
Handled-By : Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13408
Subject : Performance regression in 2.6.30-rc7
Submitter : Diego Calleja <diegocg@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-05-30 18:51 (9 days old)
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2009/5/30/146


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13407
Subject : adb trackpad disappears after suspend to ram
Submitter : Jan Scholz <scholz@fias.uni-frankfurt.de>
Date : 2009-05-28 7:59 (11 days old)
First-Bad-Commit: http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=2ed8d2b3a81bdbb0418301628ccdb008ac9f40b7
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124349762314976&w=4
Handled-By : Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13401
Subject : pktcdvd writing is really slow with CFQ scheduler (bisected)
Submitter : Laurent Riffard <laurent.riffard@free.fr>
Date : 2009-05-28 18:43 (11 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13391
Subject : Kernel boot hangs at about every second start when kms is activated
Submitter : Martin Bammer <mrb74@gmx.at>
Date : 2009-05-26 21:47 (13 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13374
Subject : reiserfs blocked for more than 120secs
Submitter : Harald Dunkel <harald.dunkel@t-online.de>
Date : 2009-05-23 8:52 (16 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124306880410811&w=4
http://lkml.org/lkml/2009/5/29/389


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13373
Subject : fbcon, intelfb, i915: INFO: possible circular locking dependency detected
Submitter : Miles Lane <miles.lane@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-05-23 5:08 (16 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124305538130702&w=4


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13366
Subject : About 80% of shutdowns fail (blocking)
Submitter : Martin Bammer <mrb74@gmx.at>
Date : 2009-05-23 00:58 (16 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13362
Subject : rt2x00: slow wifi with correct basic rate bitmap
Submitter : Alejandro Riveira <ariveira@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-05-22 13:32 (17 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13351
Subject : 2.6.30 corrupts my system after suspend resume with readonly mounted hard disk
Submitter : <unggnu@googlemail.com>
Date : 2009-05-20 14:09 (19 days old)
First-Bad-Commit: http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=78a8b35bc7abf8b8333d6f625e08c0f7cc1c3742
Handled-By : Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13341
Subject : Random Oops at boot at loading ip6tables rules
Submitter : <patrick@ostenberg.de>
Date : 2009-05-19 09:08 (20 days old)
Handled-By : Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13337
Subject : [post 2.6.29 regression] hang during suspend of b44/b43 modules
Submitter : Tomas Janousek <tomi@nomi.cz>
Date : 2009-05-18 10:59 (21 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13330
Subject : nfs4 NULL pointer dereference in _nfs4_do_setlk
Submitter : Rich Ercolani <rercola@acm.jhu.edu>
Date : 2009-05-17 04:44 (22 days old)
Handled-By : Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13328
Subject : b44: eth0: BUG! Timeout waiting for bit 00000002 of register 42c to clear.
Submitter : Francis Moreau <francis.moro@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-05-03 16:22 (36 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124136778012280&w=4


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13319
Subject : Page allocation failures with b43 and p54usb
Submitter : Larry Finger <Larry.Finger@lwfinger.net>
Date : 2009-04-29 21:01 (40 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124103897101088&w=4
Handled-By : Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13318
Subject : AGP doesn't work anymore on nforce2
Submitter : Karsten Mehrhoff <kawime@gmx.de>
Date : 2009-04-30 8:51 (39 days old)
First-Bad-Commit: http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=59de2bebabc5027f93df999d59cc65df591c3e6e
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124108156417560&w=4
Handled-By : Shaohua Li <shaohua.li@intel.com>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13313
Subject : vm86old oops
Submitter : Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@mail.by>
Date : 2009-05-14 21:53 (25 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13306
Subject : hibernate slow on _second_ run
Submitter : Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net>
Date : 2009-05-14 09:34 (25 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13277
Subject : 2.6.30 regression - unreliable resume - bisected - Thinkpad X40
Submitter : Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Date : 2009-05-11 10:08 (28 days old)
Handled-By : Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13219
Subject : Since kernel 2.6.30-rc1, computers hangs randomly ..
Submitter : David Hill <hilld@binarystorm.net>
Date : 2009-05-01 16:57 (38 days old)


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13180
Subject : 2.6.30-rc2: WARNING at i915_gem.c for i915_gem_idle
Submitter : Niel Lambrechts <niel.lambrechts@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-04-21 21:35 (48 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124034980819102&w=4
http://lkml.org/lkml/2009/4/27/290


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13179
Subject : CD-R: wodim intermittent failures
Submitter : Andy Isaacson <adi@hexapodia.org>
Date : 2009-04-21 1:52 (48 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124027879214231&w=4


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13119
Subject : Trouble with make-install from a NFS mount
Submitter : Gregory Haskins <ghaskins@novell.com>
Date : 2009-04-14 21:32 (55 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=123974482327044&w=4
Handled-By : H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13116
Subject : Can't boot with nosmp
Submitter : Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@vyatta.com>
Date : 2009-04-15 4:18 (54 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=123976917817920&w=4
Handled-By : Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13109
Subject : High latency on /sys/class/thermal
Submitter : Tiago Simões Batista <tiagosbatista@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-04-11 14:56 (58 days old)
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=123946182301248&w=4
Handled-By : Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Alexey Starikovskiy <astarikovskiy@suse.de>


Regressions with patches
------------------------

Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13470
Subject : Machine doesn't boot due to mmconfig detection problem
Submitter : Pascal Terjan <pterjan@mandriva.com>
Date : 2009-05-29 19:35 (10 days old)
First-Bad-Commit: http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=044cd80942e47b9de0915b627902adf05c52377f
References : http://marc.info/?l=linux-kernel&m=124388792118481&w=4
Handled-By : Yinghai Lu <yinghai@kernel.org>
Patch : http://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/27613/


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13462
Subject : Unused bands in intefb console and smaller 180x56 -> 128x48
Submitter : Santi <santi@agolina.net>
Date : 2009-06-05 16:30 (3 days old)
First-Bad-Commit: http://git.kernel.org/?p=linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git;a=commit;h=c9fb15f60eb517c958dec64dca9357bf62bf2201
Handled-By : Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13462#c2


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13423
Subject : JMicron SATA controller not available
Submitter : Marc Dionne <marc.c.dionne@gmail.com>
Date : 2009-05-26 22:56 (13 days old)
References : http://lkml.org/lkml/2009/5/26/687
Handled-By : Yu Zhao <yu.zhao@intel.com>
Patch : http://lkml.org/lkml/2009/5/27/402


Bug-Entry : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13389
Subject : Warning 'Invalid throttling state, reset' gets displayed when it should not be
Submitter : Frans Pop <elendil@planet.nl>
Date : 2009-05-26 15:24 (13 days old)
Handled-By : Frans Pop <elendil@planet.nl>
Patch : http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=21671
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/attachment.cgi?id=21672


For details, please visit the bug entries and follow the links given in
references.

As you can see, there is a Bugzilla entry for each of the listed regressions.
There also is a Bugzilla entry used for tracking the regressions from 2.6.29,
unresolved as well as resolved, at:

http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=13070

Please let me know if there are any Bugzilla entries that should be added to
the list in there.

Thanks,
Rafael

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe linux-kernel" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html
Please read the FAQ at http://www.tux.org/lkml/

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-06-07 14:51    [W:0.261 / U:3.192 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site