lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Apr]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] input: Document the bcm5974 driver
Date
This patch adds documentation for the bcm5974 to Documentation/input/.

Signed-off-by: Henrik Rydberg <rydberg@euromail.se>
---
Documentation/input/bcm5974.txt | 65 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
1 files changed, 65 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)
create mode 100644 Documentation/input/bcm5974.txt
diff --git a/Documentation/input/bcm5974.txt b/Documentation/input/bcm5974.txt
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..6db0763
--- /dev/null
+++ b/Documentation/input/bcm5974.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,65 @@
+BCM5974 Driver (bcm5974)
+------------------------
+ Copyright (C) 2008-2009 Henrik Rydberg <rydberg@euromail.se>
+
+The USB initialization and package decoding was made by Scott Shawcroft as
+part of the touchd user-space driver project:
+ Copyright (C) 2008 Scott Shawcroft (scott.shawcroft@gmail.com)
+
+The BCM5974 driver is based on the appletouch driver:
+ Copyright (C) 2001-2004 Greg Kroah-Hartman (greg@kroah.com)
+ Copyright (C) 2005 Johannes Berg (johannes@sipsolutions.net)
+ Copyright (C) 2005 Stelian Pop (stelian@popies.net)
+ Copyright (C) 2005 Frank Arnold (frank@scirocco-5v-turbo.de)
+ Copyright (C) 2005 Peter Osterlund (petero2@telia.com)
+ Copyright (C) 2005 Michael Hanselmann (linux-kernel@hansmi.ch)
+ Copyright (C) 2006 Nicolas Boichat (nicolas@boichat.ch)
+
+This driver adds support for the multi-touch trackpad on the new Apple
+Macbook Air and Macbook Pro laptops. It replaces the appletouch driver on
+those computers, and integrates well with the synaptics driver of the Xorg
+system.
+
+Known to work on Macbook Air, Macbook Pro Penryn and the new unibody
+Macbook 5 and Macbook Pro 5.
+
+Usage
+-----
+
+The driver loads automatically for the supported usb device ids, and
+becomes available both as an event device (/dev/input/event*) and as a
+mouse via the mousedev driver (/dev/input/mice).
+
+USB Race
+--------
+
+The Apple multi-touch trackpads report both mouse and keyboard events via
+different interfaces of the same usb device. This creates a race condition
+with the HID driver, which, if not told otherwise, will find the standard
+HID mouse and keyboard, and claim the whole device. To remedy, the usb
+product id must be listed in the mouse_ignore list of the hid driver.
+
+Debug output
+------------
+
+To ease the development for new hardware version, verbose packet output can
+be switched on with the debug kernel module parameter. The range [1-9]
+yields different levels of verbosity. Example (as root):
+
+rmmod bcm5974 && sudo modprobe bcm5974 debug=9
+
+tail -f /var/log/debug
+
+rmmod bcm5974 && sudo modprobe bcm5974 debug=0
+
+Trivia
+------
+
+The driver was developed at the ubuntu forums in June 2008 [1], and now has
+a more permanent home at bitmath.org [2].
+
+Links
+-----
+
+[1] http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=840040
+[2] http://http://bitmath.org/code/
--
1.5.6.3


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-04-28 13:11    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans