lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Apr]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [patch for 2.6.30 2/2] arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c: avoid cross-CPU interrupts


> From: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>
> In drv_read(), check to see whether we can run the rdmsr() on the current
> CPU. If so, do that. So smp_call_function_single() can avoid the IPI.
>
> Arguably, cpumask_any() should do this.
>
> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>
> Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
> Cc: Zhao Yakui <yakui.zhao@intel.com>
> Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Tested-by: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
> Cc: "Zhang, Yanmin" <yanmin_zhang@linux.intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>
> ---
>
> arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c | 17 +++++++++++++++--
> 1 file changed, 15 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff -puN arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c~arch-x86-kernel-cpu-cpufreq-acpi-cpufreqc-avoid-cross-cpu-interrupts arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
> --- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c~arch-x86-kernel-cpu-cpufreq-acpi-cpufreqc-avoid-cross-cpu-interrupts
> +++ a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
> @@ -197,9 +197,22 @@ static void do_drv_write(void *_cmd)
>
> static void drv_read(struct drv_cmd *cmd)
> {
> - cmd->val = 0;
> + int target_cpu; /* The CPU on which to perform thr rdmsr() */
> + int this_cpu;
> +
> + /*
> + * If the current CPU is in cmd->mask then run the rdmsr() on this
> + * CPU to avoid the cross-cpu interrupt.
> + */
> + this_cpu = get_cpu();
> + if (cpu_isset(this_cpu, *(cmd->mask)))
> + target_cpu = this_cpu;
> + else
> + target_cpu = cpumask_any(cmd->mask);
>
> - smp_call_function_single(cpumask_any(cmd->mask), do_drv_read, cmd, 1);
> + cmd->val = 0;
> + smp_call_function_single(target_cpu, do_drv_read, cmd, 1);
> + put_cpu();
> }
>
> static void drv_write(struct drv_cmd *cmd)
> _

Rather than this patch I would expect we would want to either:

A. as we went to the trouble to detect the local case
in drv_read, why call smp_call_function at all for that case?

or

B. optimize smp_call_function_single to beneift all users
instead of just this customer.

thanks,
-Len Brown, Intel Open Source Technology Center



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-04-20 04:59    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans