lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2009]   [Apr]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [patch for 2.6.30 2/2] arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c: avoid cross-CPU interrupts
From
Date
On Fri, 2009-04-10 at 23:17 -0700, akpm@linux-foundation.org wrote:
> From: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>
> In drv_read(), check to see whether we can run the rdmsr() on the current
> CPU. If so, do that. So smp_call_function_single() can avoid the IPI.
>
> Arguably, cpumask_any() should do this.
>
> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
> Cc: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venkatesh.pallipadi@intel.com>
> Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
> Cc: Zhao Yakui <yakui.zhao@intel.com>
> Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Tested-by: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
> Cc: "Zhang, Yanmin" <yanmin_zhang@linux.intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> ---
>
> arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c | 17 +++++++++++++++--
> 1 file changed, 15 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff -puN arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c~arch-x86-kernel-cpu-cpufreq-acpi-cpufreqc-avoid-cross-cpu-interrupts arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
> --- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c~arch-x86-kernel-cpu-cpufreq-acpi-cpufreqc-avoid-cross-cpu-interrupts
> +++ a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/cpufreq/acpi-cpufreq.c
> @@ -197,9 +197,22 @@ static void do_drv_write(void *_cmd)
>
> static void drv_read(struct drv_cmd *cmd)
> {
> - cmd->val = 0;
> + int target_cpu; /* The CPU on which to perform thr rdmsr() */

+ int target_cpu; /* The CPU on which to perform the rdmsr() */
--
JSR



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2009-04-11 08:41    [from the cache]
©2003-2011 Jasper Spaans