lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Dec]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC PATCH] mm/mempolicy: Fix memory leak in set_mempolicy_home_node system call
On Wed 14-12-22 17:21:10, Mathieu Desnoyers wrote:
> When encountering any vma in the range with policy other than MPOL_BIND
> or MPOL_PREFERRED_MANY, an error is returned without issuing a mpol_put
> on the policy just allocated with mpol_dup().
>
> This allows arbitrary users to leak kernel memory.
>
> Fixes: c6018b4b2549 ("mm/mempolicy: add set_mempolicy_home_node syscall")
> Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Ben Widawsky <ben.widawsky@intel.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Feng Tang <feng.tang@intel.com>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
> Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
> Cc: <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # 5.17+

Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Thanks for catching this!

Btw. looking at the code again it seems rather pointless to duplicate
the policy just to throw it away anyway. A slightly bigger diff but this
looks more reasonable to me. What do you think? I can also send it as a
clean up on top of your fix.
---
diff --git a/mm/mempolicy.c b/mm/mempolicy.c
index 61aa9aedb728..918cdc8a7f0c 100644
--- a/mm/mempolicy.c
+++ b/mm/mempolicy.c
@@ -1489,7 +1489,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(set_mempolicy_home_node, unsigned long, start, unsigned long, le
{
struct mm_struct *mm = current->mm;
struct vm_area_struct *vma;
- struct mempolicy *new;
+ struct mempolicy *new. *old;
unsigned long vmstart;
unsigned long vmend;
unsigned long end;
@@ -1521,30 +1521,28 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(set_mempolicy_home_node, unsigned long, start, unsigned long, le
return 0;
mmap_write_lock(mm);
for_each_vma_range(vmi, vma, end) {
- vmstart = max(start, vma->vm_start);
- vmend = min(end, vma->vm_end);
- new = mpol_dup(vma_policy(vma));
- if (IS_ERR(new)) {
- err = PTR_ERR(new);
- break;
- }
- /*
- * Only update home node if there is an existing vma policy
- */
- if (!new)
- continue;
-
/*
* If any vma in the range got policy other than MPOL_BIND
* or MPOL_PREFERRED_MANY we return error. We don't reset
* the home node for vmas we already updated before.
*/
- if (new->mode != MPOL_BIND && new->mode != MPOL_PREFERRED_MANY) {
+ old = vma_policy(vma);
+ if (!old)
+ continue;
+ if (old->mode != MPOL_BIND && old->mode != MPOL_PREFERRED_MANY) {
err = -EOPNOTSUPP;
break;
}

+ new = mpol_dup(vma_policy(vma));
+ if (IS_ERR(new)) {
+ err = PTR_ERR(new);
+ break;
+ }
+
new->home_node = home_node;
+ vmstart = max(start, vma->vm_start);
+ vmend = min(end, vma->vm_end);
err = mbind_range(mm, vmstart, vmend, new);
mpol_put(new);
if (err)
--
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-12-15 08:52    [W:0.206 / U:0.008 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site