lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Dec]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH] cros_ec_keyb: Add 3 buttons for monitor function
Date
Hi Dmitry,

Thank you for comments. I will try to give a clear description and sent the patch again.
Actually, the function of "leave PC(cros) mode" button is to implement 'lock the screen' in chromeOS.
Google suggests us to sent 'F13' key to lock the screen, could we do it or do you have any suggestion?

BRs,
Joe

-----Original Message-----
From: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
Sent: Friday, December 16, 2022 6:01 AM
To: Joe Wu <joewu@msi.corp-partner.google.com>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>; Xiang wangx <wangxiang@cdjrlc.com>; linux-input@vger.kernel.org; Derek Huang <derekhuang@google.com>; Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Benson Leung <bleung@chromium.org>; Daisuke Nojiri <dnojiri@chromium.org>; Prashant Malani <pmalani@chromium.org>; Furquan Shaikh <furquan@chromium.org>; Tzung-Bi Shih <tzungbi@kernel.org>; chrome-platform@lists.linux.dev; Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>; Dustin L . Howett <dustin@howett.net>; Guenter Roeck <groeck@chromium.org>; Gustavo A . R . Silva <gustavoars@kernel.org>; Sebastian Reichel <sebastian.reichel@collabora.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] cros_ec_keyb: Add 3 buttons for monitor function

Hi Joe,

On Thu, Dec 15, 2022 at 02:15:50PM +0800, Joe Wu wrote:
> This patch is to add extra 3 buttons: 'brightness up', 'brightness
> down' and 'leave PC(cros) mode' to support monitor navigation
> function.

I understand "brightness up" and "brightness down" but I have no idea what "leave PC(cros) mode" means. I also do not think we should be abusing F13 for this.

Thanks.

>
> Signed-off-by: Joe Wu <joewu@msi.corp-partner.google.com>
>
> ---
>
> drivers/input/keyboard/cros_ec_keyb.c | 15 +++++++++++++++
> include/linux/platform_data/cros_ec_commands.h | 3 +++
> 2 files changed, 18 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/input/keyboard/cros_ec_keyb.c
> b/drivers/input/keyboard/cros_ec_keyb.c
> index c14136b733a9..bf1cf0b782d2 100644
> --- a/drivers/input/keyboard/cros_ec_keyb.c
> +++ b/drivers/input/keyboard/cros_ec_keyb.c
> @@ -100,6 +100,21 @@ static const struct cros_ec_bs_map cros_ec_keyb_bs[] = {
> .code = KEY_VOLUMEDOWN,
> .bit = EC_MKBP_VOL_DOWN,
> },
> + {
> + .ev_type = EV_KEY,
> + .code = KEY_BRIGHTNESSUP,
> + .bit = EC_MKBP_BRI_UP,
> + },
> + {
> + .ev_type = EV_KEY,
> + .code = KEY_BRIGHTNESSDOWN,
> + .bit = EC_MKBP_BRI_DOWN,
> + },
> + {
> + .ev_type = EV_KEY,
> + .code = KEY_F13,
> + .bit = EC_MKBP_CROS_LEAVE,
> + },
>
> /* Switches */
> {
> diff --git a/include/linux/platform_data/cros_ec_commands.h
> b/include/linux/platform_data/cros_ec_commands.h
> index 5744a2d746aa..79218da8a8cb 100644
> --- a/include/linux/platform_data/cros_ec_commands.h
> +++ b/include/linux/platform_data/cros_ec_commands.h
> @@ -3471,6 +3471,9 @@ struct ec_response_get_next_event_v1 {
> #define EC_MKBP_VOL_UP 1
> #define EC_MKBP_VOL_DOWN 2
> #define EC_MKBP_RECOVERY 3
> +#define EC_MKBP_BRI_UP 4
> +#define EC_MKBP_BRI_DOWN 5
> +#define EC_MKBP_CROS_LEAVE 6
>
> /* Switches */
> #define EC_MKBP_LID_OPEN 0
> --
> 2.17.1
>

--
Dmitry

*****CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION*****

This email is intended only for the use of the person or entity to whom it is
addressed and contains information that may be subject to and/or may be
restricted from disclosure by contract or applicable law. If you are not the
intended recipient of this email, be advised that any disclosure, copy,
distribution or use of the contents of this message is strictly prohibited.
If you are not the intended recipient of this email, please notify the sender
that you have received this in error by replying to this message. Then,
please delete it from your system. Our Privacy Policy is available here
https://www.msi.com/page/privacy-policy. Thank you.
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-12-16 02:37    [W:0.067 / U:0.052 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site