lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Dec]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH] mm/mempolicy: Fix memory leak in set_mempolicy_home_node system call
Date
When encountering any vma in the range with policy other than MPOL_BIND
or MPOL_PREFERRED_MANY, an error is returned without issuing a mpol_put
on the policy just allocated with mpol_dup().

This allows arbitrary users to leak kernel memory.

Fixes: c6018b4b2549 ("mm/mempolicy: add set_mempolicy_home_node syscall")
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Ben Widawsky <ben.widawsky@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Feng Tang <feng.tang@intel.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # 5.17+
---
mm/mempolicy.c | 1 +
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

diff --git a/mm/mempolicy.c b/mm/mempolicy.c
index 61aa9aedb728..02c8a712282f 100644
--- a/mm/mempolicy.c
+++ b/mm/mempolicy.c
@@ -1540,6 +1540,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(set_mempolicy_home_node, unsigned long, start, unsigned long, le
* the home node for vmas we already updated before.
*/
if (new->mode != MPOL_BIND && new->mode != MPOL_PREFERRED_MANY) {
+ mpol_put(new);
err = -EOPNOTSUPP;
break;
}
--
2.25.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-12-14 23:23    [W:0.096 / U:4.236 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site