lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jun]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.4 63/71] mm: page_vma_mapped_walk(): get vma_address_end() earlier
Date
From: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>

page_vma_mapped_walk() cleanup: get THP's vma_address_end() at the
start, rather than later at next_pte.

It's a little unnecessary overhead on the first call, but makes for a
simpler loop in the following commit.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/4542b34d-862f-7cb4-bb22-e0df6ce830a2@google.com
Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alistair Popple <apopple@nvidia.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Cc: Wang Yugui <wangyugui@e16-tech.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com>
Cc: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
mm/page_vma_mapped.c | 13 +++++++++----
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
index fc68ab2d3ea1..93dd79ba9969 100644
--- a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
+++ b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
@@ -166,6 +166,15 @@ bool page_vma_mapped_walk(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw)
return true;
}

+ /*
+ * Seek to next pte only makes sense for THP.
+ * But more important than that optimization, is to filter out
+ * any PageKsm page: whose page->index misleads vma_address()
+ * and vma_address_end() to disaster.
+ */
+ end = PageTransCompound(page) ?
+ vma_address_end(page, pvmw->vma) :
+ pvmw->address + PAGE_SIZE;
if (pvmw->pte)
goto next_pte;
restart:
@@ -233,10 +242,6 @@ bool page_vma_mapped_walk(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw)
if (check_pte(pvmw))
return true;
next_pte:
- /* Seek to next pte only makes sense for THP */
- if (!PageTransHuge(page))
- return not_found(pvmw);
- end = vma_address_end(page, pvmw->vma);
do {
pvmw->address += PAGE_SIZE;
if (pvmw->address >= end)
--
2.30.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-06-28 17:10    [W:0.261 / U:0.924 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site