lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jun]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.4 58/71] mm: page_vma_mapped_walk(): use pmde for *pvmw->pmd
Date
From: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>

page_vma_mapped_walk() cleanup: re-evaluate pmde after taking lock, then
use it in subsequent tests, instead of repeatedly dereferencing pointer.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/53fbc9d-891e-46b2-cb4b-468c3b19238e@google.com
Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Cc: Alistair Popple <apopple@nvidia.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Cc: Wang Yugui <wangyugui@e16-tech.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com>
Cc: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
mm/page_vma_mapped.c | 11 ++++++-----
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
index ebf021d4e68b..76503169c1e2 100644
--- a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
+++ b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
@@ -186,18 +186,19 @@ bool page_vma_mapped_walk(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw)
pmde = READ_ONCE(*pvmw->pmd);
if (pmd_trans_huge(pmde) || is_pmd_migration_entry(pmde)) {
pvmw->ptl = pmd_lock(mm, pvmw->pmd);
- if (likely(pmd_trans_huge(*pvmw->pmd))) {
+ pmde = *pvmw->pmd;
+ if (likely(pmd_trans_huge(pmde))) {
if (pvmw->flags & PVMW_MIGRATION)
return not_found(pvmw);
- if (pmd_page(*pvmw->pmd) != page)
+ if (pmd_page(pmde) != page)
return not_found(pvmw);
return true;
- } else if (!pmd_present(*pvmw->pmd)) {
+ } else if (!pmd_present(pmde)) {
if (thp_migration_supported()) {
if (!(pvmw->flags & PVMW_MIGRATION))
return not_found(pvmw);
- if (is_migration_entry(pmd_to_swp_entry(*pvmw->pmd))) {
- swp_entry_t entry = pmd_to_swp_entry(*pvmw->pmd);
+ if (is_migration_entry(pmd_to_swp_entry(pmde))) {
+ swp_entry_t entry = pmd_to_swp_entry(pmde);

if (migration_entry_to_page(entry) != page)
return not_found(pvmw);
--
2.30.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-06-28 16:50    [W:0.505 / U:0.004 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site