lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jun]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    From
    Subject[PATCH 5.10 089/101] mm: page_vma_mapped_walk(): get vma_address_end() earlier
    Date
    From: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>

    commit a765c417d876cc635f628365ec9aa6f09470069a upstream.

    page_vma_mapped_walk() cleanup: get THP's vma_address_end() at the
    start, rather than later at next_pte.

    It's a little unnecessary overhead on the first call, but makes for a
    simpler loop in the following commit.

    Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/4542b34d-862f-7cb4-bb22-e0df6ce830a2@google.com
    Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Alistair Popple <apopple@nvidia.com>
    Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
    Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
    Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
    Cc: Wang Yugui <wangyugui@e16-tech.com>
    Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
    Cc: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com>
    Cc: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com>
    Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
    Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    ---
    mm/page_vma_mapped.c | 13 +++++++++----
    1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

    diff --git a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
    index cb43affe6c76..5df88f3b454c 100644
    --- a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
    +++ b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
    @@ -170,6 +170,15 @@ bool page_vma_mapped_walk(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw)
    return true;
    }

    + /*
    + * Seek to next pte only makes sense for THP.
    + * But more important than that optimization, is to filter out
    + * any PageKsm page: whose page->index misleads vma_address()
    + * and vma_address_end() to disaster.
    + */
    + end = PageTransCompound(page) ?
    + vma_address_end(page, pvmw->vma) :
    + pvmw->address + PAGE_SIZE;
    if (pvmw->pte)
    goto next_pte;
    restart:
    @@ -237,10 +246,6 @@ bool page_vma_mapped_walk(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw)
    if (check_pte(pvmw))
    return true;
    next_pte:
    - /* Seek to next pte only makes sense for THP */
    - if (!PageTransHuge(page))
    - return not_found(pvmw);
    - end = vma_address_end(page, pvmw->vma);
    do {
    pvmw->address += PAGE_SIZE;
    if (pvmw->address >= end)
    --
    2.30.2
    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2021-06-28 16:39    [W:4.960 / U:0.096 seconds]
    ©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site