lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Apr]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 2/4] lib/vsprintf.c: Make %p{D,d} mean as much components as possible
Date
Hi

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
> Sent: Thursday, April 29, 2021 5:25 PM
> To: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
> Cc: Justin He <Justin.He@arm.com>; Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-
> foundation.org>; Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>; Sergey Senozhatsky
> <senozhatsky@chromium.org>; Andy Shevchenko
> <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>; Rasmus Villemoes
> <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>; Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>; Luca Coelho
> <luciano.coelho@intel.com>; Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>; David S.
> Miller <davem@davemloft.net>; Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>; Heiko
> Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>; Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>; Christian
> Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>; Johannes Berg
> <johannes.berg@intel.com>; Linux Documentation List <linux-
> doc@vger.kernel.org>; Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org>; open list:TI WILINK WIRELES... <linux-
> wireless@vger.kernel.org>; netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>; linux-
> s390@vger.kernel.org
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 2/4] lib/vsprintf.c: Make %p{D,d} mean as much
> components as possible
>
> On Thu 2021-04-29 11:52:49, Andy Shevchenko wrote:
> > On Thu, Apr 29, 2021 at 11:47 AM Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > On Wed 2021-04-28 21:59:27, Jia He wrote:
> > > > From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> > > >
> > > > We have '%pD'(no digit following) for printing a filename. It may not
> be
> > > > perfect (by default it only prints one component.
> > > >
> > > > %pD4 should be more than good enough, but we should make plain "%pD"
> mean
> > > > "as much of the path that is reasonable" rather than "as few
> components as
> > > > possible" (ie 1).
> > >
> > > Could you please provide link to the discussion where this idea was
> > > came from?
> >
> > https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210427025805.GD3122264@magnolia/
>
> Thanks for the link. I see that it was not clear whether the patch
> was good for %pd behavior.
>
> Linus actually suggests to keep %pd behavior as it was before, see
> https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/CAHk-=wimsMqGdzik187YWLb-
> ru+iktb4MYbMQG1rnZ81dXYFVg@mail.gmail.com/

Okay, let me keep the default %pd behavior as before('%pd' is '%pd1') and
change the behavior of %pD ('%pD' is '%pD4')

--
Cheers,
Justin (Jia He)
>
> Well, I think that this is up to the file system developers to decide.
> I am not sure if the path would do more harm than good,
> or vice versa, for dentry names.
>
> Best Regards,
> Petr
IMPORTANT NOTICE: The contents of this email and any attachments are confidential and may also be privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify the sender immediately and do not disclose the contents to any other person, use it for any purpose, or store or copy the information in any medium. Thank you.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-04-30 03:36    [W:0.062 / U:11.752 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site