lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Apr]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 1/2] CPU, NUMA topology ABIs: clarify the overflow issue of sysfs pagebuf
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Dave Hansen [mailto:dave.hansen@intel.com]
> Sent: Friday, April 30, 2021 10:39 AM
> To: Song Bao Hua (Barry Song) <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>; tiantao (H)
> <tiantao6@hisilicon.com>; corbet@lwn.net; gregkh@linuxfoundation.org
> Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; Rafael J.
> Wysocki <rafael@kernel.org>; Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>; Valentin
> Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>; Dave Hansen
> <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>; Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] CPU, NUMA topology ABIs: clarify the overflow issue
> of sysfs pagebuf
>
> On 4/29/21 3:32 PM, Song Bao Hua (Barry Song) wrote:
> > $ strace numactl --hardware 2>&1 | grep cpu
> > openat(AT_FDCWD, "/sys/devices/system/cpu",
> > O_RDONLY|O_NONBLOCK|O_DIRECTORY|O_CLOEXEC) = 3
> > openat(AT_FDCWD, "/sys/devices/system/node/node0/cpumap", O_RDONLY) = 3
> > openat(AT_FDCWD, "/sys/devices/system/node/node1/cpumap", O_RDONLY) = 3
> > openat(AT_FDCWD, "/sys/devices/system/node/node2/cpumap", O_RDONLY) = 3
> > openat(AT_FDCWD, "/sys/devices/system/node/node3/cpumap", O_RDONLY) = 3
> >
> > If we move to binary, it means we have to change those applications.
>
> I thought Greg was saying to using a sysfs binary attribute using
> something like like sysfs_create_bin_file(). Those don't have the
> PAGE_SIZE limitation. But, there's also nothing to keep us from spewing
> nice human-readable text via the "binary" file.
>
> We don't need to change the file format, just the internal kernel API
> that we produce the files with.

Dave, thanks for clarification. Sounds a way to go.

Barry
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-04-30 00:48    [W:0.058 / U:0.272 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site