lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Apr]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH v1 0/7] fs/proc/kcore: don't read offline sections, logically offline pages and hwpoisoned pages
Date
This is (obviously) for v5.13++; no need to rush with review, but I decided
to send it around right away.

Looking for places where the kernel might unconditionally read
PageOffline() pages, I stumbled over /proc/kcore; turns out /proc/kcore
needs some more love to not touch some other pages we really don't want to
read -- i.e., hwpoisoned.

Examples for PageOffline() pages are pages inflated in a balloon,
memory unplugged via virtio-mem, and partially-present sections in
memory added by the Hyper-V balloon.

When reading pages inflated in a balloon, we essentially produce
unnecessary load in the hypervisor; holes in partially present sections in
case of Hyper-V are not accessible and already were a problem for
/proc/vmcore, fixed in makedumpfile by detecting PageOffline() pages. In
the future, virtio-mem might disallow reading unplugged memory -- marked
as PageOffline() -- in some environments, resulting in undefined behavior
when accessed; therefore, I'm trying to identify and rework all these
(corner) cases.

With this series, there is really only access via /dev/mem, /proc/vmcore
and kdb left after I ripped out /dev/kmem. kdb is an advanced corner-case
use case -- we won't care for now if someone explicitly tries to do nasty
things by reading from/writing to physical addresses we better not touch.
/dev/mem is a use case we won't support for virtio-mem, at least for now,
so we'll simply disallow mapping any virtio-mem memory via /dev/mem next.
/proc/vmcore is really only a problem when dumping the old kernel via
something that's not makedumpfile (read: basically never), however, we'll
try sanitizing that as well in the second kernel in the future.

Tested via kcore_dump:
https://github.com/schlafwandler/kcore_dump

Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>
Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
Cc: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Cc: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Aili Yao <yaoaili@kingsoft.com>
Cc: Jiri Bohac <jbohac@suse.cz>
Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>
Cc: Wei Liu <wei.liu@kernel.org>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Cc: linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org
Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org

David Hildenbrand (7):
fs/proc/kcore: drop KCORE_REMAP and KCORE_OTHER
fs/proc/kcore: pfn_is_ram check only applies to KCORE_RAM
mm: rename and move page_is_poisoned()
fs/proc/kcore: don't read offline sections, logically offline pages
and hwpoisoned pages
mm: introduce page_offline_(begin|end|freeze|unfreeze) to synchronize
setting PageOffline()
virtio-mem: use page_offline_(start|end) when setting PageOffline()
fs/proc/kcore: use page_offline_(freeze|unfreeze)

drivers/virtio/virtio_mem.c | 2 ++
fs/proc/kcore.c | 69 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-------
include/linux/kcore.h | 3 --
include/linux/page-flags.h | 12 +++++++
mm/gup.c | 6 +++-
mm/internal.h | 20 -----------
mm/util.c | 40 +++++++++++++++++++++
7 files changed, 115 insertions(+), 37 deletions(-)


base-commit: 9f4ad9e425a1d3b6a34617b8ea226d56a119a717
--
2.30.2

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-04-29 14:26    [W:0.346 / U:0.560 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site