lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Feb]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] perf: Use (long) for iterator for bfd symbols
Date
GCC (GCC) 8.4.0 20200304 fails to build perf with:
: util/symbol.c: In function 'dso__load_bfd_symbols':
: util/symbol.c:1626:16: error: comparison of integer expressions of different signednes
: for (i = 0; i < symbols_count; ++i) {
: ^
: util/symbol.c:1632:16: error: comparison of integer expressions of different signednes
: while (i + 1 < symbols_count &&
: ^
: util/symbol.c:1637:13: error: comparison of integer expressions of different signednes
: if (i + 1 < symbols_count &&
: ^
: cc1: all warnings being treated as errors

It's unlikely that the symtable will be that big, but the fix is
oneliner and as perf has CORE_CFLAGS += -Wextra, which makes build to
fail together with CORE_CFLAGS += -Werror

Fixes: eac9a4342e54 ("perf symbols: Try reading the symbol table with libbfd")
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jacek Caban <jacek@codeweavers.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Remi Bernon <rbernon@codeweavers.com>
Signed-off-by: Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>
---
tools/perf/util/symbol.c | 3 +--
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
index 64a039cbba1b..1645fb4ec9ed 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/symbol.c
@@ -1561,12 +1561,11 @@ static int bfd2elf_binding(asymbol *symbol)
int dso__load_bfd_symbols(struct dso *dso, const char *debugfile)
{
int err = -1;
- long symbols_size, symbols_count;
+ long symbols_size, symbols_count, i;
asection *section;
asymbol **symbols, *sym;
struct symbol *symbol;
bfd *abfd;
- u_int i;
u64 start, len;

abfd = bfd_openr(dso->long_name, NULL);
--
2.30.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-02-09 15:54    [W:0.038 / U:3.108 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site