lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Feb]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 4.9.257 1/1] futex: Fix OWNER_DEAD fixup
On Mon, 22 Feb 2021, Zheng Yejian wrote:

> From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
>
> commit a97cb0e7b3f4c6297fd857055ae8e895f402f501 upstream.
>
> Both Geert and DaveJ reported that the recent futex commit:
>
> c1e2f0eaf015 ("futex: Avoid violating the 10th rule of futex")
>
> introduced a problem with setting OWNER_DEAD. We set the bit on an
> uninitialized variable and then entirely optimize it away as a
> dead-store.
>
> Move the setting of the bit to where it is more useful.
>
> Reported-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
> Reported-by: Dave Jones <davej@codemonkey.org.uk>
> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@us.ibm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Fixes: c1e2f0eaf015 ("futex: Avoid violating the 10th rule of futex")
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180122103947.GD2228@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net
> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> Signed-off-by: Zheng Yejian <zhengyejian1@huawei.com>
> ---
> kernel/futex.c | 7 +++----
> 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

Reviewed-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>

--
Lee Jones [李琼斯]
Senior Technical Lead - Developer Services
Linaro.org │ Open source software for Arm SoCs
Follow Linaro: Facebook | Twitter | Blog

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-02-22 12:58    [W:0.052 / U:6.660 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site