lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Feb]   [10]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: linux-next: manual merge of the gpio-brgl tree with the arm-soc tree
Date
Hi all,

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Arnd Bergmann [mailto:arnd@kernel.org]
> Sent: Tuesday, February 9, 2021 8:36 PM
> To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>; Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl>; Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>;
> Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>; ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>; Bartosz Golaszewski
> <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>; Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Linux Next Mailing List
> <linux-next@vger.kernel.org>; iwamatsu nobuhiro(岩松 信洋 □SWC◯ACT) <nobuhiro1.iwamatsu@toshiba.co.jp>
> Subject: Re: linux-next: manual merge of the gpio-brgl tree with the arm-soc tree
>
> On Tue, Feb 9, 2021 at 11:01 AM Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> wrote:
> > On Thu, Jan 28, 2021 at 7:05 AM Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> wrote:
>
> > > diff --cc arch/arm64/boot/dts/toshiba/tmpv7708-rm-mbrc.dts
> > > index 37da418393e0,950010a290f0..000000000000
> > > --- a/arch/arm64/boot/dts/toshiba/tmpv7708-rm-mbrc.dts
> > > +++ b/arch/arm64/boot/dts/toshiba/tmpv7708-rm-mbrc.dts
> > > @@@ -42,7 -42,6 +42,11 @@@
> > > clock-names = "apb_pclk";
> > > };
> > >
> > > +&wdt {
> > > + status = "okay";
> > > + clocks = <&wdt_clk>;
> > > +};
> > > ++
> > > + &gpio {
> > > + status = "okay";
> > > + };
> >
> > Probably some sort order should be taken into account (gpio before uart0),
> > also avoidng the conflict?
> >
>
> We normally do this by asking everyone to send the dts changes for
> inclusion through the soc tree rather than the subsystem that contains
> the driver. Why is this one in the gpio-brgl tree?

Perhaps this is Bartosz's mistake.
Linus has commented that gpio ml is captured via the soc tree.
https://lore.kernel.org/linux-gpio/CACRpkdb--GSy-0vnAFS9Pik4TjrNRTrYeZr2RBZD6SFM8zotyQ@mail.gmail.com/

Bartosz, could you remove commit " arm: dts: visconti: Add DT support for Toshiba Visconti5 GPIO driver" from
your tree?

Best regards,
Nobuhiro
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-02-10 06:39    [W:0.075 / U:0.140 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site