lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jan]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: Old platforms: bring out your dead
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Arnd Bergmann [mailto:arnd@kernel.org]
> Sent: Saturday, January 9, 2021 11:55 AM
> To: Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>; Linux Kernel Mailing
> List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
> Cc: Krzysztof Adamski <krzysztof.adamski@nokia.com>; Oleksij Rempel
> <o.rempel@pengutronix.de>; Baruch Siach <baruch@tkos.co.il>; Russell King -
> ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>; Daniel Tang <dt.tangr@gmail.com>; Uwe
> Kleine-König <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>; Jamie Iles
> <jamie@jamieiles.com>; Song Bao Hua (Barry Song) <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>;
> Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>; Linus Walleij
> <linus.walleij@linaro.org>; Jonas Jensen <jonas.jensen@gmail.com>; Marc
> Gonzalez <marc.w.gonzalez@free.fr>; Hartley Sweeten
> <hsweeten@visionengravers.com>; Lubomir Rintel <lkundrak@v3.sk>; Neil
> Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>; Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>; Alex
> Elder <elder@linaro.org>; Alexander Shiyan <shc_work@mail.ru>; Koen Vandeputte
> <koen.vandeputte@ncentric.com>; Hans Ulli Kroll <ulli.kroll@googlemail.com>;
> Vladimir Zapolskiy <vz@mleia.com>; xuwei (O) <xuwei5@huawei.com>; Steven
> Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>; Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>;
> Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>; Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>; Geert
> Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>; Thomas Bogendoerfer
> <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
> Subject: Old platforms: bring out your dead
>
> After v5.10 was officially declared an LTS kernel, I had a look around
> the Arm platforms that look like they have not seen any patches from
> their maintainers or users that are actually running the hardware for
> at least five years (2015 or earlier). I made some statistics and lists
> for my lwn.net article last year [1], so I'd thought I'd share a summary
> here for discussion about what we should remove. As I found three
> years ago when I removed several CPU architectures, it makes sense
> to do this in bulk, to simplify a scripted search for device drivers, header
> files and Kconfig options that become unused in the process.
>
> This is probably a mix of platforms that are completely unused and
> those that just work, but I have no good way of knowing which one
> it is. Without hearing back about these, I'd propose removing all of
> these:
>
> * asm9260 -- added in 2014, no notable changes after 2015
> * axxia -- added in 2014, no notable changes after 2015
> * bcm/kona -- added in 2013, no notable changes after 2014
> * digicolor -- added in 2014, no notable changes after 2015
> * dove -- added in 2009, obsoleted by mach-mvebu in 2015
> * efm32 -- added in 2011, first Cortex-M, no notable changes after 2013
> * nspire -- added in 2013, no notable changes after 2015
> * picoxcell -- added in 2011, already queued for removal
> * prima2 -- added in 20111, no notable changes since 2015

Hi Arnd,
I got confirmation from Qualcomm guys that there is no plan
to maintain prima2 in mainline any more.
Please feel free to remove the code. If you need my help,
Please let me know.

> * spear -- added in 2010, no notable changes since 2015
> * tango -- added in 2015, sporadic changes until 2017, but abandoned
> * u300 -- added in 2009, no notable changes since 2013
> * vt8500 -- added in 2010, no notable changes since 2014
> * zx --added in 2015 for both 32, 2017 for 64 bit, no notable changes
>

Thanks
Barry

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-01-11 21:28    [W:0.428 / U:5.664 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site