lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v7 5/7] KVM: arm64: pmu: Make overflow handler NMI safe
From
Date
Hi Will,

On 9/28/20 6:57 PM, Will Deacon wrote:

> On Thu, Sep 24, 2020 at 12:07:04PM +0100, Alexandru Elisei wrote:
>> From: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
>>
>> kvm_vcpu_kick() is not NMI safe. When the overflow handler is called from
>> NMI context, defer waking the vcpu to an irq_work queue.
>>
>> A vcpu can be freed while it's not running by kvm_destroy_vm(). Prevent
>> running the irq_work for a non-existent vcpu by calling irq_work_sync() on
>> the PMU destroy path.
>>
>> Cc: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry.kdev@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
>> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
>> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
>> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
>> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
>> Cc: Suzuki K Pouloze <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
>> Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
>> Cc: kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu
>> Signed-off-by: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
>> Tested-by: Sumit Garg <sumit.garg@linaro.org> (Developerbox)
>> [Alexandru E.: Added irq_work_sync()]
>> Signed-off-by: Alexandru Elisei <alexandru.elisei@arm.com>
>> ---
>> I suggested in v6 that I will add an irq_work_sync() to
>> kvm_pmu_vcpu_reset(). It turns out it's not necessary: a vcpu reset is done
>> by the vcpu being reset with interrupts enabled, which means all the work
>> has had a chance to run before the reset takes place.
> I don't understand this ^^

Marc had the same comment, I replied in his email. I thought about it and you're
right, it doesn't make much sense.

>
> But the patch itself looks good, so I'm going to queue this lot anyway!

Thank you for picking up the series!

Thanks,
Alex

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-30 14:37    [W:0.051 / U:2.796 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site