lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] arm64/mm: add fallback option to allocate virtually contiguous memory
From
Date


On 10/01/2020 04:43 AM, Sudarshan Rajagopalan wrote:
> When section mappings are enabled, we allocate vmemmap pages from physically
> continuous memory of size PMD_SIZE using vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(). Section
> mappings are good to reduce TLB pressure. But when system is highly fragmented
> and memory blocks are being hot-added at runtime, its possible that such
> physically continuous memory allocations can fail. Rather than failing the
> memory hot-add procedure, add a fallback option to allocate vmemmap pages from
> discontinuous pages using vmemmap_populate_basepages().
>
> Signed-off-by: Sudarshan Rajagopalan <sudaraja@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
> Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
> ---
> arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c | 14 ++++++++++++--
> 1 file changed, 12 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
> index 75df62f..9edbbb8 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
> +++ b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
> @@ -1121,8 +1121,18 @@ int __meminit vmemmap_populate(unsigned long start, unsigned long end, int node,
> void *p = NULL;
>
> p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(PMD_SIZE, node, altmap);
> - if (!p)
> - return -ENOMEM;
> + if (!p) {
> + if (altmap)
> + return -ENOMEM; /* no fallback */

Why ? If huge pages inside a vmemmap section might have been allocated
from altmap, the base page could also fallback on altmap. If this patch
has just followed the existing x86 semantics, it was written [1] long
back before vmemmap_populate_basepages() supported altmap allocation.
While adding that support [2] recently, it was deliberate not to change
x86 semantics as it was a platform decision. Nonetheless, it makes sense
to fallback on altmap bases pages if and when required.

[1] 4b94ffdc4163 (x86, mm: introduce vmem_altmap to augment vmemmap_populate())
[2] 1d9cfee7535c (mm/sparsemem: enable vmem_altmap support in vmemmap_populate_basepages())

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-10-01 02:32    [W:0.043 / U:3.728 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site