lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.4 180/388] perf parse-events: Fix 3 use after frees found with clang ASAN
Date
From: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>

[ Upstream commit d4953f7ef1a2e87ef732823af35361404d13fea8 ]

Reproducible with a clang asan build and then running perf test in
particular 'Parse event definition strings'.

Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200314170356.62914-1-irogers@google.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/util/evsel.c | 1 +
tools/perf/util/parse-events.c | 4 ++--
2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
index a844715a352d8..dfc982baecab4 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
@@ -1254,6 +1254,7 @@ void perf_evsel__exit(struct evsel *evsel)
perf_thread_map__put(evsel->core.threads);
zfree(&evsel->group_name);
zfree(&evsel->name);
+ zfree(&evsel->pmu_name);
perf_evsel__object.fini(evsel);
}

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c b/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c
index 759a99f723fc3..e232dfe07f8fb 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c
@@ -1344,7 +1344,7 @@ int parse_events_add_pmu(struct parse_events_state *parse_state,
evsel = __add_event(list, &parse_state->idx, &attr, NULL, pmu, NULL,
auto_merge_stats, NULL);
if (evsel) {
- evsel->pmu_name = name;
+ evsel->pmu_name = name ? strdup(name) : NULL;
evsel->use_uncore_alias = use_uncore_alias;
return 0;
} else {
@@ -1385,7 +1385,7 @@ int parse_events_add_pmu(struct parse_events_state *parse_state,
evsel->snapshot = info.snapshot;
evsel->metric_expr = info.metric_expr;
evsel->metric_name = info.metric_name;
- evsel->pmu_name = name;
+ evsel->pmu_name = name ? strdup(name) : NULL;
evsel->use_uncore_alias = use_uncore_alias;
evsel->percore = config_term_percore(&evsel->config_terms);
}
--
2.25.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-29 14:04    [W:0.720 / U:1.812 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site