lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 068/245] mm: pagewalk: fix termination condition in walk_pte_range()
Date
From: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>

[ Upstream commit c02a98753e0a36ba65a05818626fa6adeb4e7c97 ]

If walk_pte_range() is called with a 'end' argument that is beyond the
last page of memory (e.g. ~0UL) then the comparison between 'addr' and
'end' will always fail and the loop will be infinite. Instead change the
comparison to >= while accounting for overflow.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191218162402.45610-15-steven.price@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexandre Ghiti <alex@ghiti.fr>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: "Liang, Kan" <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Zong Li <zong.li@sifive.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
mm/pagewalk.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/pagewalk.c b/mm/pagewalk.c
index c3084ff2569d2..3c0930d94a295 100644
--- a/mm/pagewalk.c
+++ b/mm/pagewalk.c
@@ -15,9 +15,9 @@ static int walk_pte_range(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr, unsigned long end,
err = walk->pte_entry(pte, addr, addr + PAGE_SIZE, walk);
if (err)
break;
- addr += PAGE_SIZE;
- if (addr == end)
+ if (addr >= end - PAGE_SIZE)
break;
+ addr += PAGE_SIZE;
pte++;
}

--
2.25.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-29 14:01    [W:0.703 / U:2.976 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site