lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.4 285/388] perf stat: Fix duration_time value for higher intervals
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

[ Upstream commit ea9eb1f456a08c18feb485894185f7a4e31cc8a4 ]

Joakim reported wrong duration_time value for interval bigger
than 4000 [1].

The problem is in the interval value we pass to update_stats
function, which is typed as 'unsigned int' and overflows when
we get over 2^32 (happens between intervals 4000 and 5000).

Retyping the passed value to unsigned long long.

[1] https://www.spinics.net/lists/linux-perf-users/msg11777.html

Fixes: b90f1333ef08 ("perf stat: Update walltime_nsecs_stats in interval mode")
Reported-by: Joakim Zhang <qiangqing.zhang@nxp.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200518131445.3745083-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/builtin-stat.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c b/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
index 468fc49420ce1..ac2feddc75fdd 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-stat.c
@@ -351,7 +351,7 @@ static void process_interval(void)
}

init_stats(&walltime_nsecs_stats);
- update_stats(&walltime_nsecs_stats, stat_config.interval * 1000000);
+ update_stats(&walltime_nsecs_stats, stat_config.interval * 1000000ULL);
print_counters(&rs, 0, NULL);
}

--
2.25.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-29 13:59    [W:0.682 / U:3.628 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site