lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/2] sched: mark PRINTK_DEFERRED_CONTEXT_MASK in __schedule()
From
Date
On Mon, 2020-09-28 at 09:32 +0200, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> On Mon, Sep 28, 2020 at 12:11:30AM +0800, Chengming Zhou wrote:
> > The WARN_ON/WARN_ON_ONCE with rq lock held in __schedule() should be
> > deferred by marking the PRINTK_DEFERRED_CONTEXT_MASK, or will cause
> > deadlock on rq lock in the printk path.
[]
> NAK printk_deferred is an abomination, kill that.

Didn't you introduce it?
Should you be complaining to yourself?

---

commit 3ccf3e8306156a28213adc720aba807e9a901ad5
Author: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Date: Mon Feb 27 10:47:00 2012 +0100

printk/sched: Introduce special printk_sched() for those awkward moments

There's a few awkward printk()s inside of scheduler guts that people
prefer to keep but really are rather deadlock prone. Fudge around it
by storing the text in a per-cpu buffer and poll it using the existing
printk_tick() handler.

This will drop output when its more frequent than once a tick, however
only the affinity thing could possible go that fast and for that just
one should suffice to notify the admin he's done something silly..

Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-wua3lmkt3dg8nfts66o6brne@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>

commit aac74dc495456412c4130a1167ce4beb6c1f0b38
Author: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Date: Wed Jun 4 16:11:40 2014 -0700

printk: rename printk_sched to printk_deferred

After learning we'll need some sort of deferred printk functionality in
the timekeeping core, Peter suggested we rename the printk_sched function
so it can be reused by needed subsystems.

This only changes the function name. No logic changes.

Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Jiri Bohac <jbohac@suse.cz>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-28 09:53    [W:0.064 / U:30.496 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site