lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v4 04/17] x86/acrn: Introduce hypercall interfaces
On Tue, Sep 22, 2020 at 07:42:58PM +0800, shuo.a.liu@intel.com wrote:
> From: Shuo Liu <shuo.a.liu@intel.com>
>
> The Service VM communicates with the hypervisor via conventional
> hypercalls. VMCALL instruction is used to make the hypercalls.
>
> ACRN hypercall ABI:
> * Hypercall number is in R8 register.
> * Up to 2 parameters are in RDI and RSI registers.
> * Return value is in RAX register.
>
> Introduce the ACRN hypercall interfaces. Because GCC doesn't support R8
> register as direct register constraints, here are two ways to use R8 in
> extended asm:
> 1) use explicit register variable as input
> 2) use supported constraint as input with a explicit MOV to R8 in
> beginning of asm
>
> The number of instructions of above two ways are same.
> Asm code from 1)
> 38: 41 b8 00 00 00 80 mov $0x80000000,%r8d
> 3e: 48 89 c7 mov %rax,%rdi
> 41: 0f 01 c1 vmcall
> Here, writes to the lower dword (%r8d) clear the upper dword of %r8 when
> the CPU is in 64-bit mode.
>
> Asm code from 2)
> 38: 48 89 c7 mov %rax,%rdi
> 3b: 49 b8 00 00 00 80 00 movabs $0x80000000,%r8
> 42: 00 00 00
> 45: 0f 01 c1 vmcall
>
> Choose 1) for code simplicity and a little bit of code size
> optimization.
>
> Originally-by: Yakui Zhao <yakui.zhao@intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Shuo Liu <shuo.a.liu@intel.com>
> Reviewed-by: Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@intel.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> Cc: Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Fengwei Yin <fengwei.yin@intel.com>
> Cc: Zhi Wang <zhi.a.wang@intel.com>
> Cc: Zhenyu Wang <zhenyuw@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Yu Wang <yu1.wang@intel.com>
> Cc: Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@intel.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> ---
> arch/x86/include/asm/acrn.h | 57 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> 1 file changed, 57 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/acrn.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/acrn.h
> index a2d4aea3a80d..23a93b87edeb 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/include/asm/acrn.h
> +++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/acrn.h
> @@ -14,4 +14,61 @@ void acrn_setup_intr_handler(void (*handler)(void));
> void acrn_remove_intr_handler(void);
> bool acrn_is_privileged_vm(void);
>
> +/*
> + * Hypercalls for ACRN
> + *
> + * - VMCALL instruction is used to implement ACRN hypercalls.
> + * - ACRN hypercall ABI:
> + * - Hypercall number is passed in R8 register.
> + * - Up to 2 arguments are passed in RDI, RSI.
> + * - Return value will be placed in RAX.
> + */
> +static inline long acrn_hypercall0(unsigned long hcall_id)
> +{
> + register long r8 asm("r8");
> + long result;
> +
> + /* Nothing can come between the r8 assignment and the asm: */
> + r8 = hcall_id;
> + asm volatile("vmcall\n\t"
> + : "=a" (result)
> + : "r" (r8)
> + : );

What keeps an interrupt from happening between the r8 assignment and the
asm: ?

Is this something that most hypercalls need to handle? I don't see
other ones needing this type of thing, is it just because of how these
are defined?

confused,

greg k-h

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-27 12:52    [W:0.313 / U:3.464 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site