lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] sched/rt: Disable RT_RUNTIME_SHARE by default
Date
The RT_RUNTIME_SHARE sched feature enables the sharing of rt_runtime
between CPUs, allowing a CPU to run a real-time task up to 100% of the
time while leaving more space for non-real-time tasks to run on the CPU
that lend rt_runtime.

The problem is that a CPU can easily borrow enough rt_runtime to allow
a spinning rt-task to run forever, starving per-cpu tasks like kworkers,
which are non-real-time by design.

This patch disables RT_RUNTIME_SHARE by default, avoiding this problem.
The feature will still be present for users that want to enable it,
though.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
---
kernel/sched/features.h | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/features.h b/kernel/sched/features.h
index 7481cd96f391..68d369cba9e4 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/features.h
+++ b/kernel/sched/features.h
@@ -77,7 +77,7 @@ SCHED_FEAT(WARN_DOUBLE_CLOCK, false)
SCHED_FEAT(RT_PUSH_IPI, true)
#endif

-SCHED_FEAT(RT_RUNTIME_SHARE, true)
+SCHED_FEAT(RT_RUNTIME_SHARE, false)
SCHED_FEAT(LB_MIN, false)
SCHED_FEAT(ATTACH_AGE_LOAD, true)

--
2.26.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-21 16:41    [W:0.099 / U:8.816 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site