lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.14 112/127] perf parse-events: Fix incorrect conversion of 'if () free()' to 'zfree()'
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

[ Upstream commit 7fcdccd4237724931d9773d1e3039bfe053a6f52 ]

When applying a patch by Ian I incorrectly converted to zfree() an
expression that involved testing some other struct member, not the one
being freed, which lead to bugs reproduceable by:

$ perf stat -e i/bs,tsc,L2/o sleep 1
WARNING: multiple event parsing errors
Segmentation fault (core dumped)
$

Fix it by restoring the test for pos->free_str before freeing
pos->val.str, but continue using zfree(&pos->val.str) to set that member
to NULL after freeing it.

Reported-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Fixes: e8dfb81838b1 ("perf parse-events: Fix memory leaks found on parse_events")
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/util/parse-events.c | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c b/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c
index 2733cdfdf04c6..ba973bdfaa657 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/parse-events.c
@@ -1258,7 +1258,8 @@ static int __parse_events_add_pmu(struct parse_events_state *parse_state,

list_for_each_entry_safe(pos, tmp, &config_terms, list) {
list_del_init(&pos->list);
- zfree(&pos->val.str);
+ if (pos->free_str)
+ zfree(&pos->val.str);
free(pos);
}
return -EINVAL;
--
2.25.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-18 04:31    [W:0.280 / U:1.896 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site