lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 01/10] dt-bindings: phy: qcom,qmp-usb3-dp: Add DP phy information
From
Date
Quoting Rob Herring (2020-09-15 13:24:32)
> On Wed, Sep 09, 2020 at 11:48:21PM -0700, Stephen Boyd wrote:
> > Quoting Stephen Boyd (2020-09-09 17:48:53)
> > > This binding only describes the USB phy inside the USB3 + DP "combo"
> > > phy. Add information for the DP phy and describe the sub-nodes that
> > > represent the DP and USB3 phys that exist inside the combo wrapper.
> > > Remove reg-names from required properties because it isn't required nor
> > > used by the kernel driver.
> > >
> > > Cc: Jeykumar Sankaran <jsanka@codeaurora.org>
> > > Cc: Chandan Uddaraju <chandanu@codeaurora.org>
> > > Cc: Vara Reddy <varar@codeaurora.org>
> > > Cc: Tanmay Shah <tanmay@codeaurora.org>
> > > Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> > > Cc: Manu Gautam <mgautam@codeaurora.org>
> > > Cc: Sandeep Maheswaram <sanm@codeaurora.org>
> > > Cc: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
> > > Cc: Sean Paul <seanpaul@chromium.org>
> > > Cc: Jonathan Marek <jonathan@marek.ca>
> > > Cc: Dmitry Baryshkov <dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>
> > > Cc: <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>
> > > Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
> > > Cc: Rob Clark <robdclark@chromium.org>
> > > Signed-off-by: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
> > > ---
> > > .../bindings/phy/qcom,qmp-usb3-dp-phy.yaml | 91 +++++++++++++++++--
> > > 1 file changed, 81 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)
> >
> > I noticed that I didn't document the new compatible string I'm using,
> > qcom,sc7180-qmp-usb3-dp-phy, ugh.
> >
> > Should I copy the whole file over and make a new document for the new
> > compatible string? That feels like the better solution vs. making this
> > binding have min/max stuff where it fails to enforce the DP part of the
> > phy. We can delete this binding once the kernel tree isn't using it,
> > right?
>
> It generally depends on how much if/then schema you have (or should
> have) vs. how much is common, but it's a judgement call. It looks
> like you are just extending the binding for the most part. If there's
> dtb warnings until the existing stuff gets updated, that's fine.
>

Ok. I'll just add in the extra compatible and then we can drop the older
ones at some point.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-16 21:45    [W:0.041 / U:7.776 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site