lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jul]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Subject[PATCH v3] CodingStyle: Inclusive Terminology
From
Date
Linux maintains a coding-style and its own idiomatic set of terminology.
Update the style guidelines to recommend replacements for the terms
master/slave and blacklist/whitelist.

Link: http://lore.kernel.org/r/159389297140.2210796.13590142254668787525.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Acked-by: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Acked-by: SeongJae Park <sjpark@amazon.de>
Acked-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
Acked-by: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
Reviewed-by: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Signed-off-by: Shuah Khan <skhan@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Signed-off-by: Chris Mason <clm@fb.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
---
Changes since v2 [1]:
- Pick up missed sign-offs and acks from Jon, Shuah, and Christian
(sorry about missing those earlier).

- Reformat the replacement list to make it easier to read.

- Add 'controller' as a suggested replacement (Kees and Mark)

- Fix up the paired term for 'performer' to be 'director' (Kees)

- Collect some new acks, reviewed-by's, and sign-offs for v2.

- Fix up Chris's email

[1]: http://lore.kernel.org/r/159419296487.2464622.863943877093636532.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com


Documentation/process/coding-style.rst | 20 ++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 20 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/process/coding-style.rst b/Documentation/process/coding-style.rst
index 2657a55c6f12..1bee6f8affdb 100644
--- a/Documentation/process/coding-style.rst
+++ b/Documentation/process/coding-style.rst
@@ -319,6 +319,26 @@ If you are afraid to mix up your local variable names, you have another
problem, which is called the function-growth-hormone-imbalance syndrome.
See chapter 6 (Functions).

+For symbol names and documentation, avoid introducing new usage of
+'master / slave' (or 'slave' independent of 'master') and 'blacklist /
+whitelist'.
+
+Recommended replacements for 'master / slave' are:
+ '{primary,main} / {secondary,replica,subordinate}'
+ '{initiator,requester} / {target,responder}'
+ '{controller,host} / {device,worker,proxy}'
+ 'leader / follower'
+ 'director / performer'
+
+Recommended replacements for 'blacklist/whitelist' are:
+ 'denylist / allowlist'
+ 'blocklist / passlist'
+
+Exceptions for introducing new usage is to maintain a userspace ABI/API,
+or when updating code for an existing (as of 2020) hardware or protocol
+specification that mandates those terms. For new specifications
+translate specification usage of the terminology to the kernel coding
+standard where possible.

5) Typedefs
-----------
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-07-08 20:31    [W:0.258 / U:3.568 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site