lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jul]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.4 066/109] net: macb: mark device wake capable when "magic-packet" property present
Date
From: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>

[ Upstream commit ced4799d06375929e013eea04ba6908207afabbe ]

Change the way the "magic-packet" DT property is handled in the
macb_probe() function, matching DT binding documentation.
Now we mark the device as "wakeup capable" instead of calling the
device_init_wakeup() function that would enable the wakeup source.

For Ethernet WoL, enabling the wakeup_source is done by
using ethtool and associated macb_set_wol() function that
already calls device_set_wakeup_enable() for this purpose.

That would reduce power consumption by cutting more clocks if
"magic-packet" property is set but WoL is not configured by ethtool.

Fixes: 3e2a5e153906 ("net: macb: add wake-on-lan support via magic packet")
Cc: Claudiu Beznea <claudiu.beznea@microchip.com>
Cc: Harini Katakam <harini.katakam@xilinx.com>
Cc: Sergio Prado <sergio.prado@e-labworks.com>
Reviewed-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Nicolas Ferre <nicolas.ferre@microchip.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c
index 16f5c62ba6dfe..e7fafe2fcae5d 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/cadence/macb_main.c
@@ -4260,7 +4260,7 @@ static int macb_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
bp->wol = 0;
if (of_get_property(np, "magic-packet", NULL))
bp->wol |= MACB_WOL_HAS_MAGIC_PACKET;
- device_init_wakeup(&pdev->dev, bp->wol & MACB_WOL_HAS_MAGIC_PACKET);
+ device_set_wakeup_capable(&pdev->dev, bp->wol & MACB_WOL_HAS_MAGIC_PACKET);

spin_lock_init(&bp->lock);

--
2.25.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-07-14 20:51    [W:0.253 / U:5.736 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site