lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.9 178/191] mm/slab: use memzero_explicit() in kzfree()
Date
From: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>

commit 8982ae527fbef170ef298650c15d55a9ccd33973 upstream.

The kzfree() function is normally used to clear some sensitive
information, like encryption keys, in the buffer before freeing it back to
the pool. Memset() is currently used for buffer clearing. However
unlikely, there is still a non-zero probability that the compiler may
choose to optimize away the memory clearing especially if LTO is being
used in the future.

To make sure that this optimization will never happen,
memzero_explicit(), which is introduced in v3.18, is now used in
kzfree() to future-proof it.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200616154311.12314-2-longman@redhat.com
Fixes: 3ef0e5ba4673 ("slab: introduce kzfree()")
Signed-off-by: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Cc: "Jason A . Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
mm/slab_common.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/mm/slab_common.c b/mm/slab_common.c
index 13f1926f8fcd4..26c4d47229273 100644
--- a/mm/slab_common.c
+++ b/mm/slab_common.c
@@ -1345,7 +1345,7 @@ void kzfree(const void *p)
if (unlikely(ZERO_OR_NULL_PTR(mem)))
return;
ks = ksize(mem);
- memset(mem, 0, ks);
+ memzero_explicit(mem, ks);
kfree(mem);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(kzfree);
--
2.25.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-06-29 21:21    [W:0.503 / U:5.792 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site