lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [May]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2 2/3] seccomp: Introduce addfd ioctl to seccomp user notifier
Date
Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me> writes:

> This adds a seccomp notifier ioctl which allows for the listener to "add"
> file descriptors to a process which originated a seccomp user
> notification. This allows calls like mount, and mknod to be "implemented",
> as the return value, and the arguments are data in memory. On the other
> hand, calls like connect can be "implemented" using pidfd_getfd.
>
> Unfortunately, there are calls which return file descriptors, like
> open, which are vulnerable to TOC-TOU attacks, and require that the
> more privileged supervisor can inspect the argument, and perform the
> syscall on behalf of the process generating the notifiation. This
> allows the file descriptor generated from that open call to be
> returned to the calling process.
>
> In addition, there is funcitonality to allow for replacement of
> specific file descriptors, following dup2-like semantics.
>
> Signed-off-by: Sargun Dhillon <sargun@sargun.me>
> Suggested-by: Matt Denton <mpdenton@google.com>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com>,
> Cc: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
> Cc: Robert Sesek <rsesek@google.com>,
> Cc: Chris Palmer <palmer@google.com>
> Cc: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
> Cc: Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>
> ---

Thanks, this is a really useful feature.

Tested-by: Giuseppe Scrivano <gscrivan@redhat.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-05-29 11:26    [W:0.222 / U:1.612 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site