lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [May]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/2] software node: implement software_node_unregister()
From
Date
On 5/24/20 9:43 AM, Guenter Roeck wrote:
> On 5/24/20 8:30 AM, Greg Kroah-Hartman wrote:
>> Sometimes it is better to unregister individual nodes instead of trying
>> to do them all at once with software_node_unregister_nodes(), so create
>> software_node_unregister() so that you can unregister them one at a
>> time.
>>
>> This is especially important when creating nodes in a hierarchy, with
>> parent -> children representations. Children always need to be removed
>> before a parent is, as the swnode logic assumes this is going to be the
>> case.
>>
>> Fix up the lib/test_printf.c fwnode_pointer() test which to use this new
>> function as it had the problem of tearing things down in the backwards
>> order.
>>
>> Fixes: f1ce39df508d ("lib/test_printf: Add tests for %pfw printk modifier")
>> Reported-by: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
>> Reported-by: kernel test robot <rong.a.chen@intel.com>
>> Cc: stable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
>> Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
>> Cc: Brendan Higgins <brendanhiggins@google.com>
>> Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>
>> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
>> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
>> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
>> Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
>> Cc: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>
>> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
>> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
>> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
>
> Both patches pass my boot tests on arm64 and arm64be (I didn't test any others).
> So, FWIW,
>
> Tested-by: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
>
> I wasn't sure it the two patches replace or fix commit 4ef12f719802 ("kobject:
> Make sure the parent does not get released before its children"), so I tried
> to re-apply 4ef12f719802 on top of the two patches. Unfortunately that still
> results in crashes and UAF messages.

Yes, that kobject patch has been reverted:
https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux.git/commit/?id=e6764aa0e5530066dd969eccea2a1a7d177859a8

and these 2 patches are to be used instead.

thanks.
--
~Randy

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-05-25 04:45    [W:0.095 / U:0.032 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site